Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob W
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some questions came up during yesterday's game:

Quote:
Stormcrow

Play if either the Fellowship of a Companion is inside the borders of a Free Peoples Nation not "At War."

Move that Nation's Political Counter back one step on the Political Track.

Then, the Free People's Player must eliminate one Leader or Army Unit of that Nation (Regular or Elite).


What happens if the Fellowship is in Gondor and Gandalf is in Rohan, and both nations are not at war? Who decides which nation is pushed back on the Political Track, Shadow or Free?




Quote:
The Spirit of Mordor

Choose a Shadow Army anywhere on the board that is composed of units from at least two different Shadow Nations.

Roll five dice and score one hit against this Army for each result of 5+.


Are Nazgul and/or the Witch-King considered units? Is an army comprised of Southron Regulars, 3 Nazgul and the Witch-King vulnerable to this card? If the Southrons are destroyed by this card, the Nazgul and WK are eliminated, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. The Shadow player decides which nation.

2. No, the Nazgûl and any Minion with the destroyed Shadow Army are safe. They only die if the Shadow Army they are with is destroyed in battle.

The exception are the three "The Ents Awake" Event Cards and the Event Card "Dead Men of Dunharow." These cards explicitly state that any Nazgûl or Minion in a destroyed Army are eliminated.

Also, the Nazgûl and Minions (and Companions) are not units.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob W
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Veldrin wrote:
Also, the Nazgûl and Minions (and Companions) are not units.


So the Spirit of Mordor card was not a valid choice for the scenario I described, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. There were only S&E Army units in that Army.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FYI: Free Peoples Leaders aren't units, either.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.