Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fire Captain Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Drebing
United States
Sandy
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I use the Fire Captain's 2 free Command AP to have another player move the fire engine or ambulance, or chop at a wall?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, only movement and opening doors.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Libonati Rocha
Brazil
Curitiba
Paraná
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you can use this 2 free AP to another player moves the ambulance or fire engine, but not for chop!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noble Knave
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
libonati wrote:
I think you can use this 2 free AP to another player moves the ambulance or fire engine, but not for chop!


Moving the Ambulance or Fire Engine is a "Drive" action, which is not allowed by the free AP nor by the Fire Captain's special ability. Note that the Captain could radio the Ambulance with his normal AP and a Firefighter could still Ride free.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjo Man
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It looks like the Fire Captain can also use his 4 standard AP to move other players as well, which gives him 6 AP worth of moving other people around and through doors.

Am I reading that right?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Stellmach
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Benjo221 wrote:
It looks like the Fire Captain can also use his 4 standard AP to move other players as well, which gives him 6 AP worth of moving other people around and through doors.

Am I reading that right?

Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn George
United States
Toledo
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Open your eyes...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Benjo221 wrote:
It looks like the Fire Captain can also use his 4 standard AP to move other players as well, which gives him 6 AP worth of moving other people around and through doors.

Am I reading that right?


Correct. That's a rule I missed the first time around. The Fire Captain gets 4 standard AP. He also gets a unique ability called "Command". He can use his 4 standard AP to take any action, including Command. Additionally, he receives 2 bonus AP each turn that can only be used on Command. Like other roles with bonus AP, these bonus AP cannot be banked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjo Man
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Putts wrote:
Benjo221 wrote:
It looks like the Fire Captain can also use his 4 standard AP to move other players as well, which gives him 6 AP worth of moving other people around and through doors.

Am I reading that right?


Correct. That's a rule I missed the first time around. The Fire Captain gets 4 standard AP. He also gets a unique ability called "Command". He can use his 4 standard AP to take any action, including Command. Additionally, he receives 2 bonus AP each turn that can only be used on Command. Like other roles with bonus AP, these bonus AP cannot be banked.


That's how I read it too. It makes the Fire Captain extremely useful as a tool to achieve a win. He's not super fun to play as since you might not ever move your own pawn, but it's still neat how he can get some extra actions for the rest of the team, or at least set other players up for more efficient turns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Lemaire
Canada
Montréal
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all clarifications.

Just one more question I had:
Rules said we can expense just one command AP for the CAFS.

It's one from the bonus AP or from the all 6 AP (or more if we have saved) ?

Another thing, if I have 6 command AP.
Can I spend 6 AP on one unique firefighter (who have only 4 normal AP for his turn) ?

PS: sorry if my English is bad, I try to do my best but this is not my native language.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trev Clarke
United Kingdom
Coventry
flag msg tools
mbmb
flolem wrote:
Rules said we can expense just one command AP for the CAFS.

It's one from the bonus AP or from the all 6 AP (or more if we have saved) ?


Out of the six (or up to ten including saved) action points available to the Captain each turn, only one can be used on the CAFS Firefighter.

flolem wrote:
Can I spend 6 AP on one unique firefighter (who have only 4 normal AP for his turn) ?


Yes (other than on the CAFS Firefighter), so long as all that firefighter does is move and/or open/close doors.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hendee
United States
Frisco
Texas
flag msg tools
I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Whenever you become anxious or stressed, outer purpose has taken over, and you have lost sight of your inner purpose. Your state of consciousness is primary. All else is secondary.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Trev wrote:
flolem wrote:
Can I spend 6 AP on one unique firefighter (who have only 4 normal AP for his turn) ?


Yes (other than on the CAFS Firefighter), so long as all that firefighter does is move and/or open/close doors.


Move the Rescue Specialist while she is carrying a victim. Help her get the victim to the ambulance. 2AP per square moved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim C
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
With the Second Story expansion, are the Open Window and Climb Ladder actions also considered to be movement orders that the Captain can give to others? Would this also apply to other expansions with new movement-type actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Byrd
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bookkeeper wrote:
With the Second Story expansion, are the Open Window and Climb Ladder actions also considered to be movement orders that the Captain can give to others? Would this also apply to other expansions with new movement-type actions?


Page 3 of the 2nd story rules defines Carry Ladder, Erect Ladder, Climb Ladder, Collapse Ladder, and Open/Close Window as Move Actions, so yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.