Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Barrel rolling off asteroids? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dean Hunt
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmb
If you land on an asteroid and then barrel roll of it.. do you still get the consequences of the asteroid?

In fact, are you even allowed to barrel roll off an asteroid?

We play it so you can't, I am curious to know the exact rules.

Thankyou.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Allen
United States
Chicago
IL - Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

If you land on an obstacle, you can't take actions right? So, no, you can't barrel roll off.

13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Hunt
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks, that is what we thought, but I wanted to double-check. Much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien M
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can, however, be given an action from Squad leader to barrel roll. You must still follow the rules of not having the template overlap any part of the asteroid though.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sockhands wrote:

If you land on an obstacle, you can't take actions right? So, no, you can't barrel roll off.



This is generally true. However, with the rules as written, it sounds like if a ship overlapping an obstacle is given a free action (say, via Squad Leader), the ship could barrel roll off the asteroid. In this case, the ship already skipped its normal action step and already rolled (and possibly suffered) damage as a result of the collision, but it seems like it would be allowed to fire during combat if it is no longer overlapping an obstacle when its turn comes during the combat phase.

Rules wrote:
Moving into and Through Obstacles
When a ship executes a maneuver in which either the maneuver template or the ship's base physically overlaps an obstacle token, follow these steps:
1. Execute the maneuver as normal, but skip the "Perform Action" step.
2. The player rolls one attack die. The ship then suffers any damage or critical damage rolled (see "Suffering Damage" on page 16).

Important: When overlapping an obstacle token, the ship stays where it lands (on top of the token). A ship that is overlapping an obstacle token during the Combat phase cannot attack any ship but may be targeted by other ships as normal.


Notice that it doesn't say that a ship overlapping an obstacle cannot take an action (free or otherwise); only that it skips the "Perform Action" step during its Activation Phase.

*edit* Ninja'd by Entice. ninja
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Hunt
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmb
Great, that is a useful exception. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Loblaw
msg tools
Entice wrote:
You can, however, be given an action from Squad leader to barrel roll. You must still follow the rules of not having the template overlap any part of the asteroid though.
The template can overlap the asteroid. The limitation is that the base of the ship can't overlap another ship or an obstacle. As long as the barrel roll gets you completely off the asteroid, it is legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien M
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
queenofengland wrote:
Entice wrote:
You can, however, be given an action from Squad leader to barrel roll. You must still follow the rules of not having the template overlap any part of the asteroid though.
The template can overlap the asteroid. The limitation is that the base of the ship can't overlap another ship or an obstacle. As long as the barrel roll gets you completely off the asteroid, it is legal.


Ah, you are correct. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Dirk
msg tools
queenofengland wrote:
Entice wrote:
You can, however, be given an action from Squad leader to barrel roll. You must still follow the rules of not having the template overlap any part of the asteroid though.
The template can overlap the asteroid. The limitation is that the base of the ship can't overlap another ship or an obstacle. As long as the barrel roll gets you completely off the asteroid, it is legal.


Just to clarify... A template that overlaps an obstacle is technically still overlapping it and could cause penalty. Since the rule of obstacles state the template or the base(at end of movement) overlaps.

Though in this case since the barrel roll would occur in the same round as overlapping the obstacle in the first place, additional penalties are not applied.

From the FAQ:

Quote:
Q: If a ship’s base overlaps an obstacle
during the previous round, is that ship
automatically considered overlapping the
same obstacle during the next round?

A: No. The ship does not move through or overlap that
same obstacle unless the maneuver template it is
using or its base after executing the maneuver
overlap that obstacle again during the next round.

Q: After a ship moves through or overlaps
more than one obstacle, does the owner
roll an attack die for each of these
obstacles?
A: No. He rolls only one attack die regardless of the
number of obstacle tokens his ship moves through
or overlaps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So if you fly through an asteroid but are able to pass completely through it, you still get your action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SanguinousRex wrote:
So if you fly through an asteroid but are able to pass completely through it, you still get your action?


No you lose your action if your movement template overlaps an asteroid. You will still be able to attack though since you are not on the asteroid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.