Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Firepower modifiers and rounding rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Doug Poskitt
Portugal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We are currently playing The Guards Counterattack. Neither of us are very experienced at Squad Leader.

Here's the thing.

Suppose a Russian 6-2-8's firepower is halved twice. 6/2 = 3, 3/2 = 1.5. Is the 1.5 rounded up or down?

Suppose three 6-2-8's are all firing together, and are each halved twice (once for movement, once for range), is the rounding down/up applied before or after their firing factors are added together? i.e., is the total 1.5 + 1.5 + 1.5 = 4.5 (rounded to 4 or 5) ... OR 1.5 (rounded to 1) + 1 + 1 = 3 ... OR 1.5 (rounded to 2) + 2 + 2 = 4?

Many thanks in advance for anyone able to help with this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Badger
England
London
Enfield
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A 628 unit halved twice has 1.5 fp. This is not rounded. When you look at the fp chart you use whichever column the fp equals or exceeds. 1.5 is greater than 1 but less than 2, so you'd use the 1fp column.

Two 628 units halved twice would therefore have 3 fp, and would use the 2fp column.

Hope this helps.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Poskitt
Portugal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for that quick reply. Yes, it sure helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Power
United States
Virginia Beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Badger is correct. The rule reference is 10.2 3rd and 4th sentences.

"Use the rightmost column which does not exceed the total adjusted FP factors of the FG. Excess FP factors are lost." -10.3 SL
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.