Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Where do heroes go when they die? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Am I correct, they are dead forever? They do not go into the discard deck and thus never back into your hand or into play.

2) What happens to their attachments - gone forever or into the discard deck?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EnderWizard
United States
Niskayuna
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Valhalla? Though, that's not very Lord of the Rings-ish.

Valinor? The Undying Lands?



I know, I know. I'm not helping.
10 
 Thumb up
0.30
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robrob wrote:
1) Am I correct, they are dead forever? They do not go into the discard deck and thus never back into your hand or into play.

From the rulebook (p 20):
Quote:
Note that hero
cards that are defeated are placed in their owner’s
discard pile. When resolving effects that move cards
from a player’s discard pile to his hand or deck, hero
cards in the discard pile are ignored, as hero cards
cannot move to a player’s hand or deck.

Heroes can be brought back into play by the Spirit Event "Fortune or Fate."

Robrob wrote:
2) What happens to their attachments - gone forever or into the discard deck?

Attachments go to the discard pile of the deck from which they originated.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
This is a rebellion, isn't it? I rebel.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robrob wrote:
1) Am I correct, they are dead forever? They do not go into the discard deck and thus never back into your hand or into play.

2) What happens to their attachments - gone forever or into the discard deck?


Dead heroes do go to your discard pile but can't be brought back from the discards with normal cards. Only cards that specifically mention heroes like Fortune or Fate can get them back. For example, you can't grab a dead Spirit hero back with Dwarven Tomb nor shuffle a hero into your deck with Will of the West.

The attachments go to discard pile as well but can be brought back with certain cards.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattr0polis wrote:
Robrob wrote:
1) Am I correct, they are dead forever? They do not go into the discard deck and thus never back into your hand or into play.

2) What happens to their attachments - gone forever or into the discard deck?


Dead heroes do go to your discard pile but can't be brought back from the discards with normal cards. Only cards that specifically mention heroes like Fortune or Fate can get them back. For example, you can't grab a dead Spirit hero back with Dwarven Tomb nor shuffle a hero into your deck with Will of the West.

The attachments go to discard pile as well but can be brought back with certain cards.


Those are the cards (Dwarven Tomb and Will of the West) which caused the question.

That's pretty much what I thought, they are in the discard deck (everything has to be somewhere) but they are "incorporeal" and not touched except by specific card interaction.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ŁṲÎS̈
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
F*** it! Do it LIVE!
badge
Didn't know what to spend all this sweet GG on, so I bought the overtext.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ender Wiggin wrote:
Valhalla? Though, that's not very Lord of the Rings-ish.

Valinor? The Undying Lands?



I know, I know. I'm not helping.


They don't go to heaven where the angels fly
They go down to the lake of fire and fry
Won't see 'em again till the fourth of July

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
This is a rebellion, isn't it? I rebel.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robrob wrote:
That's pretty much what I thought, they are in the discard deck (everything has to be somewhere) but they are "incorporeal" and not touched except by specific card interaction.


Exactly. I just put them in the discard pile sideways so that I remember not to shuffle them back in/grab them/etc.
1 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brain
United States
Belvidere
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a hero dies, I keep it on its own stack next to the discard pile.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.