Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions: killed leader in campaign, Napoleon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jose Velazquez
Spain
Cordoba
Cordoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think these questions have not been asked before, I'm not completely sure, so forgive me if they had. They came to mind during our first play of the game:

1) A British leader receives "minor campaign" and so his "supply&control" are boosted. After taking some troops on his way, he attacks Buffalo but just when he announces the attack, the US plays Henry McComas and killed that leader. No other leader was present in the British expedition. So, what do we do now? The replacement leader enters? And he receives the bonus to his supply & control or is this bonus lost?

2) The card "Napoleon escapes from Elba" is in the US player's hand and it says "must play". Napoleon has not been yet defeated. Is the card mandatory to play? What happens to the event? Explain the situation and what would happen if the card was in US hand or the British hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll let Kevin handle the first question.

Regarding the second question, the card must still be played (and not saved) by the side that receives it, even though the event cannot be triggered at this time. Either side would play it for operations points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You should never worry about asking a question that has already been asked, Jose; it is really no trouble to answer it again!

1) Yes, a replacement leader enters. Rules section 10.3 Replacement Leaders, second paragraph: "If there are no more Leaders in the Expedition, you must place a Replacement Leader in the Commander's location." He does not receive the bonus to his supply & control: the Minor Campaign cards state: "Order any Leader, who then receives 5 additional points of inherent supply & control." The bonus gained by the card applies to the Leader, not his expedition. The attack must still go forward, but with fewer troops and probably a worse Tactical Value than you were expecting. surprise

2) Paul is, as usual, correct. Rules section 4.2 Rounds, item 1.: "Cards marked 'Must Play' may not be Saved." That's all that "Must Play" means: it can't be saved to the next turn. Since it can't be played for the event, it must be played for ops points, and is NOT removed from the deck. Instead, the deck is shuffled- and it might turn up again at any time! devil

Kevin

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Velazquez
Spain
Cordoba
Cordoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply to both of you !!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.