Gloversville
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
biddi biddi biddi
mbmbmbmbmb

Does anyone know if there's some easy trick to sharpening a guillotine paper cutter?

My dad told me years ago that I can sharpen scissors by cutting fine-grit sandpaper with them... could I apply that technique to this?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schumann
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You should remove the blade and sharpen it on a large plate with very fine sandpaper or a sharpening plate. It may be less hassle to replace the blade... for you, but I'm a woodworker and already have sharpening stuff.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Parker
United States
Fort Wayne
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For clarity, are you referring to a true guillotine cutter that cuts dozens to hundreds of sheets at once, or a bypass cutter like the ones you'd find in a school office? One of those acts a lot like scissors, and the other one doesn't. Edit: Actually, they both act a lot like scissors, but the guillotine has a much sharper blade that's harder to get to.

But I'd say I'm not even sure about the idea of sharpening scissors by cutting sandpaper. It doesn't make a lot of sense compared to just giving the outside edges of the blades a couple swipes on a whetstone.

Which, if you were indeed referring to a bypass cutter, suggests a solution: run a whetstone and then a hone along the bevel on the outside edge of the blade. If you were referring to a true guillotine cutter, you'll probably have to remove the blade to sharpen it, and you may want to get it done professionally by someone who sharpens knives.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Etkin
United States
Gloversville
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
biddi biddi biddi
mbmbmbmbmb

It's a cheapie sharpener I picked up for about $30. I think it can cut probably about 4-5 pages at a time, max.