Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Kingdom of Heaven: The Crusader States 1097-1291» Forums » Rules

Subject: Commercial Rivalry rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Kinney
United States
Winthrop
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

"The Christian Player may not engage in naval movement in the Mediterranean this turn. may be played to cancel both the Venetian and Genoese fleet cards in addition to the above effects."

If played as event does it prevent the use of those events later in that turn, or does it just prevent a player from playing the 3 ops card to move 5 units?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jakinney wrote:

"The Christian Player may not engage in naval movement in the Mediterranean this turn. may be played to cancel both the Venetian and Genoese fleet cards in addition to the above effects."

If played as event does it prevent the use of those events later in that turn, or does it just prevent a player from playing the 3 ops card to move 5 units?

My interpretation is that you may cancel the Venetian and Genoese fleet cards the moment the Christian player plays them if you have Commercial Rivalry in your hand. The words "both" and "and" suggest that if you cancel either of those cards, you actually cancel both of them. I see two different situations playing Commercial Rivalry as a response event:

1. Played against regular naval movement(since it's a response event)
result: The Christian player cannot make naval movements in the Mediterranean by regular means this turn but he may still play events that allow him to make naval movement in the Mediterranean.

2. Played against naval movement with Venetian or Genoese fleet events.
result: Naval movement is cancelled. Both the Venetian or Genoese fleet events don't work this turn and in addition the Christian player cannot make normal naval movement.

Historically I see two different situations:

2. Rivalry between Venice and Genoa.

1. Rivalry between some other parties.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kinney
United States
Winthrop
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Thanks very much for the response.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott de Brestian
United States
Mt. Pleasant
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Jakinney is mostly right. You can play it as a normal event to stop all regular naval movement in the Mediterranean. Or you can hold it and use it as a response event to cancel either of the Venetian/Genoan Fleet cards (which, if you do, also triggers the normal effect).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kinney
United States
Winthrop
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Thanks Scott,

Jeff
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikita Startsev
Russia
St. Petersburg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RoadHouse wrote:
[q="jakinney"]
2. Played against naval movement with Venetian or Genoese fleet events.
result: Naval movement is cancelled. Both the Venetian or Genoese fleet events don't work this turn and in addition the Christian player cannot make normal naval movement.

Don't agree with the second part. This card can cancel one of the fleet cards but not both of them at the same time. Reaction can't cancel upcoming events at least there should be some note about this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DrNik wrote:
RoadHouse wrote:
[q="jakinney"]
2. Played against naval movement with Venetian or Genoese fleet events.
result: Naval movement is cancelled. Both the Venetian or Genoese fleet events don't work this turn and in addition the Christian player cannot make normal naval movement.

Don't agree with the second part. This card can cancel one of the fleet cards but not both of them at the same time. Reaction can't cancel upcoming events at least there should be some note about this.

Yes. Scott clarified it as "either". The original text on the card is a bit misleading.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.