Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Innovation» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lighting Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryan Maxwell
United States
Burtchville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife and I were playing Innovation yesterday and got into a spirited debate over the Lighting card from Age 7.

Lighting says:

You may tuck up to three cards from your hand. If you do, draw and score a 7 for every different value of card you tucked.

I think: you have to tuck three cards in order to score any 7's. I believe this because of the phrase "if you do". If you can score 7's regardless of how many cards you tucked, then the "if you do" phrase is completely redundant.

She thinks: If you tuck any cards, you score a 7 for each value. So, if you tuck one card you score one 7. She pointed out the card Quantum Theory which says "you may return up to two cards from your hand. If you return two..."

Which one of us is correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key words are "up to" and "if you do". So you choose to tuck between 1 and 3 cards, then draw and score a 7 for each value represented in those cards. So your wife is right. It's just to cover for the situation where you decide not to tuck any, and so you get no bonus.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think your wife is correct.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mr_Nuts wrote:
My wife and I were playing Innovation yesterday and got into a spirited debate blazing argument over the Lighting card from Age 7.


FTFY
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Klinck
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your wife is correct. If you tuck 1 card, you have tucked "up to 3 cards".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Maxwell
United States
Burtchville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very well. I will never speak of this again.

I maintain that "if you do" is redundant. If I don't tuck any cards then score a 7 for each card I tucked, I obviously don't score any 7's.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Reid
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can see that. I think it's common form though on a number of other cards, in whose cases it might not be redundant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mr_Nuts wrote:
I maintain that "if you do" is redundant.


It's redundant for you to point out that it's redundant. Yet you did it anyway.

People write things that are redundant all the time. Like this, for example.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Maxwell
United States
Burtchville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:
Mr_Nuts wrote:
I maintain that "if you do" is redundant.


It's redundant for you to point out that it's redundant. Yet you did it anyway.

People write things that are redundant all the time. Like this, for example.


But not this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan C
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep, to gain what he cannot lose."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mr_Nuts wrote:
Which one of us is correct?


iklinck wrote:
Your wife is correct.


Game, set, match. Don't feel bad, that's how most of my marriage-related disagreements turn out. As I get older, and wiser, I can just identify that fact earlier on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.