GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,876 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
100 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Variants

Subject: Fixing Lannister/Greyjoy starting imbalance - options? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Maltuvion Irewood
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Let me preface this by saying I am relatively new to the game, but overall an avid boardgamer over the past decade. There is therefore a chance that I am trying to fix something that isn't inherently broken. My goal is not to make Lannister impervious to any offense from Greyjoy, but as it stands right now Greyjoy can seemingly trounce Lannister from round 1 with impunity, making Lannister dependent on the rest of the board reacting against Greyjoy, a task that will generally fall to Stark or Tyrell, both of which generally has their hands full doing other stuff in round 1.

My main gripe with the Greyjoy/Lannister situation is that "the fix" to it, according to some people on this forum, lies in people aiding Lannister/going on the offence against Greyjoy, which to me is a sign of bad game design; in a game where that doesn't happen, Lannister is blasted back to the stone age whereas Greyjoy will have gained immensely and irrevocably, due to the other player's inactivity/failure to respond.

I do not dispute that it does paint a target on Greyjoy and that other players should respond; but any design bruteforcing people into certain damage control scenarios straight off the bat with medium risk/high reward to the aggressor is, in my opinion, lackluster design.

So how can this be fixed?