Our Tiger! She drinks fuel like it's beer!
Ha! They're scratching your paint job Helmut!
Nowhere on my TEC does it show that firing across a cliff hexside causes the AS to be halved. Would you mind referencing the rule to which you are refering?
It is not a matter of whether you fire "across" a cliff hexside but a matter of what type of hex you fire at.
The rules clearly state that all Direct Fire attacks against units on hilltop hexes are made with half AS (with the exceptions of adjacency and fire from another hilltop ofcourse).
Orange hexes are considered hilltop hexes, regardless of their sides.
The TEC writes Cliff Hex Side, not Cliff Hex, to indicate that a "Cliff hex" actually is a "Hilltop hex" (thus the AS does get halved), with the exceptions that the cliff sides would add (no momevent and no CAT across them).
In other words, the cliff plateau retains the attributes of a hilltop hex (since cliff hexes do not exist) with differences only in regards to movement and CAT (due to cliff sides).
Afterall, besides the cliff hex side, there is a hilltop hex side.
Hope this helped!
edit: cleaned the text above to make it more comprehensible
Well... It wouldn't make sense if AS wasn't halved.
Why is the AS halved? Because of the difference in target elevation.
Is there a difference in elevation between the beaches and the "cliffs" (/hilltops)?
Yes, see rule VII.J.11.d.
These "cliffs" represent those really steep hilltops at the far end of the picture:
Why on earth wouldn't be the AS of units firing against targets up there not halved?