fish face
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi - a qucik Q after reading the rules. The rules state on p7 'the specialists in the new world can be swapperd out for colonists and the specialists returned to the player's pool'.

I have some questions about this:

1 - can I do this anytime, or do I need to send a colonist to the relevant area to bring the specialist home?

2 - can I swap soldiers for colonists - effectively to redeploy my military?

3 - does this mean that If I used a missionary to get my extra colonist or Merchant for cash, I can immediately swap themn and use the same missionary/merchant the next turn?

Thanks for the clarifications!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Broggi
United States
Southwick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is essentially a way to get around component limitations. When we play, we usually swap out any specialist going to the new world immediately upon arrival, with the exception of soldiers. So the answers to your questions are all yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swan Bones
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We keep them unswapped unless we run out. This is particularly important for missionaries (a couple of capital buildings refer to missionaries in the new world - although this could be only in the Builder expansion) and of course both soldiers and builders (builders can never be swapped or it would break the game). However we don't seem to run out of specialists very often. Merchants and captains can be swapped immediately as they have no effect once they've landed.

I am a bit confused about "I can immediately swap them and use the same missionary/merchant the next turn?" I assume you mean the same piece for a new missionary/merchant than you either collect from a capital building or from the specialists track?

[edited for my sloppy typing, I am tired snore]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fish face
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
[q="

I am a bit confused about "I can immediately swap them and use the same missionary/merchant the next turn?" I assume you mean the same piece for a new missionary/merchant than you either collect from a capital building or from the specialists track?

[edited for my sloppy typing, I am tired snore][/q]

I'm not surprised. I've worked it out now, by looking at the rules again.

Thanks for the answers

cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) You can do it at any time.

2) No. A soldier is a specialist. You cannot place a specialist in place of a colonist; it's the other way around.

3. The missionary goes back in the pool. (Reread your own question from the quote you set out from page 7). You can, however, use the same Missionary if you have a building that gives you one free Missionary per turn. It doesn't matter which one of the five available you take, if it's free.

I allow the swapping of Builders. It's a viable strategy if someone takes area control away from you and you want to prevent that other player from getting the four-point bonus.

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swan Bones
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I allow the swapping of Builders. It's a viable strategy if someone takes area control away from you and you want to prevent that other player from getting the four-point bonus.


But doesn't that takes away the risk and tactical challenge of builders, and therefore also the intentional re-emphasis on area control and soldiers/war with the builders expansion? Seems like it would also make the builders far too unbalanced, no risk at all in placing as many as you can in an area.

Edit: other forums such as this: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/9951060#9951060
demonstrates that soldiers and builders are exempt from the swapping out rule as it is just a practical consideration rather than an in-game strategy. The argument is that if a piece has an ongoing effect (n.b. missionaries might also qualify with whichever new capital building it is) then it shouldn't be swapped out. The rule of the builder adding VPs to an opponent's territory would otherwise be superfluous. Also IMHO it is a really good rule that makes builder placement more tactical and interesting.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Morgal
United States
Elkridge
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Jacky Blue Note wrote:
if a piece has an ongoing effect (n.b. missionaries might also qualify with whichever new capital building it is) then it shouldn't be swapped out. The rule of the builder adding VPs to an opponent's territory would otherwise be superfluous. Also IMHO it is a really good rule that makes builder placement more tactical and interesting.


This. You should never swap out soldiers, builders, and missionaries (if you are using the expansion) for regular colonists unless you run out of them for some reason. I believe a rule addendum is out there which clarifies this. Although the missionaries importance is dependent on one building, there are Age-3 buildings that give you points for builders and soldiers.

Plus having a builder in the new world completely changes the playing field of that area. Having multiple builders in the new world is basically putting a giant target sign on your head that says "shoot me" unless you have some soldiers of your own to defend them. Every VP is important in this game, and builders can get you a lot, even if they aren't your own, heheh.

Basically, if you decide to send builders to the new world you are choosing to take a risk that could help or hurt you greatly, and you should have a long term plan to handle the consequences. That is a key strategic element of the expansion, and I don't think it correct to just throw that out the window.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Broggi
United States
Southwick
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This only applies when playing with the builders expansion. Prior to that, there was no reason to not swap out non-soldier specialists.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lane Taylor
United States
Layton
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Slight nitpick, you can swap out missionaries, but if you're playing with the expansion, you should leave one missionary in each of your colonies that you shipped a missionary to, in case the new building comes up. (If a colony with a missionary is in a battle, the missionary should be the last killed.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.