Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Race the Wind» Forums » Rules

Subject: how the tunrs take place? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
nosdok
Germany
Hamburg
Hamburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

Might be even a silly question, but it is not clear for me how are the turns played:

Should we choose a first player and then each person plays his turn sequencially or every player moves at the same time her/his boat?

This becomes imprortant to solve properly some give the way situations. If each player moves her/his boat sequencially some of the give a way situations never come.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riccardo Scotti
Switzerland
Thalwil
Zurich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Nosdok... the game is turn based..
You decide who starts the match race, and go in the same method each round
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Groth
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The sequential turns do make the give-way situations less likely, but some are still possible. If a boat on port tack (burdened) moves into the space immediately ahead of a boat on starboard tack (privileged), then the burdened boat on port tack takes a penalty because it should have given way instead. The privileged boat will have to turn to avoid a collision though.

I imagine that plotting movement simultaneously could be a good house variant. There would be some new rule details to decide to make that possible though:
- If the burdened or "give way" boat is forced to change movement and there is more than one option, who decides?
- What about boats that never actually occupy the same space, but their paths clearly imply conlict? Example: Wind from the North, two boats start on adjacent spaces, tacking upwind "on a bowline" but the one farther to starboard is on starboard tack travelling northwest, and the other on port tack, travelling northeast. Each plans to move forward one space on the diagonal, so their paths clearly cross, but they never actually rest at the same position. Does the boat on port tack still have to give way and change course? Does it take a penalty? What if only one boat hits a puff, so the speeds are not the same and they would not have passed the intermediate crossing point at the same moment, do they still interfere?
- What about conflicts in a close fleet race, where one boat giving way creates another conflict with a third boat?
- The wind shadow rule could be simplified, and taken as an immediate effect based on starting position, regardless of direction, I suppose.

Just some things to think about if you like to develop house rules.

If you prefer to use the rules as written, then move sequentially, and it should be somewhat easier to avoid give-way or penalty situations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo Motta
Brazil
Araranguá
Santa Catarina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ted, Ideas:
Both players choose their actions in secret.
All players show the action in in same time.
The player more forward in the race and windward, play first.
The rules of priorities still apply.

I have not tested this ideias.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.