A question came up tonight during the game:
2) Black can build up to 4 hexes. It was asked: "What if Black is able to, one one turn, connect two Brown and green on its turn.
So Black form a "Y" connection, and delves 2 hexes connecting to X, and then 2 hexes connecting to Y. One or two dividends?
The new connections condition is only checked after all the expansion builds are done. If any new connection is present, a dividend is paid with the currently expanding railroad getting a double payout.
From the rules at the end of the pay dividends section " It does not matter if more than one new direct connection has been built."
A single dividend is triggered.
2) Orange and brown share a city. Bill gets to move twice in a row.
Turn 1: Black connects to orange. Note: Orange is connected to Brown.
3) Black connects to brown on turn 2. Deos this count as a connection?
Indirect connections don't matter. This is the first time black has connected to brown, so it triggers a dividend. I assume by two turns you mean two separate expansion actions.