Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Smeagol tiles removed when entering Mordor? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl-Johan Strömwall
Sweden
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Are the Smeagol tiles removed when entering Mordor and Gollum is the leader?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As soon as Gollum becomes the Guide, the Sméagol tiles are useless (and can be removed from the Hunt pool).

This should be in the expansion forum, shouldn't it?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Honcho
msg tools
Actually, the Smeagol tiles are still beneficial as it results in 0 hunt damage. I leave them in when entering Mordor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Di Meglio
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike, actually, it's wrong. Smeagol tiles are worth 0 only if Smeagol is in the game. If Gollum is in play they must be discarded and re-drawn (or removed from the pool, as Kris said - it's the same except for the additional tile searching).
But they are not worth 0 anymore when Gollum is in play.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl-Johan Strömwall
Sweden
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks all for the swift reply.

We have a game ongoing and I needed that answer as the SP, to at least have some chance of winning still.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Honcho
msg tools
Thanks for the clarification. I did not catch the subtlety of Gollum vs. Smeagol. I'm sure that's happened to me before in a game or two as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be clear, the Fellowship's being in Mordor has nothing to do with the functioning of the Smeagol tiles. It all depends on Smeagol (not Gollum) being the Guide.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl-Johan Strömwall
Sweden
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.