Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I score immediatly after placing a tile and meeple on it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
no name
Italy
flag msg tools
Hi, it seems to me that if I complete a road/city/etc and in this same turn I place a meeple on that last tile I can immediatly score and regather my meeple. I've just started to play and some of my friends thinks that I can't do this. Who is right? ^^

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
my eye
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can. A turn order goes like this:
1. Place a tile
2. Place a meeple (optional)
3. Score a completed feature, which returns any meeples on those features.

So if you place a meeple on your tile on a feature that you just completed with that tile, then he comes back right away.

Do note that if yo do not have any extra meeples on hand, that you can't score a feature to get one back and then place it. Placing always comes before scoring.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Warren
United Kingdom
Wisbech
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Elves are very good at board games, and I'm NOT an elf!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, although there is more to this when using other expansions, it goes:

1. Place tile
2. Move the wood (place a meeple to the just played tile)
3. Score completed features.

So yes, you can place a meeple to the tile just placed and score for the completed feature on the same turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Roberts
United Kingdom
Southport
Merseyside
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are right.
Nothing is scored until you place the meeple.
As long as the road/city/etc that you have just completed has no other meeples on it (i.e. if you could legally place a meeple on it if it wasn't finished), you can place your meeple on it, score it and immediately regain your meeple.

Of course, your friends can do that too...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarek Szczepanik
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remember that you always:

(i) play the tile you've drawn

(ii) if possible, you place a meeple on that tile

(iii) if any feature is finished by playing that tile, you immediately score it

(iv) you can reclaim a meeple from a finished structure


So, playing the tile that closes an unoccupied city, placing the follower on it, scoring the city, and getting the follower back to your reserve is correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
no name
Italy
flag msg tools
Thank you very much guys! Seemed obvious to me too!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Duncan
Scotland
East Kilbride
South Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
www.gameburst.co.uk
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are spot on, if you complete a road, place a meeple on it, score it and take you meeple back.

this would also apply to cities as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L H
United States
Lehi
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BigAndiD wrote:
You are spot on, if you complete a road, place a meeple on it, score it and take you meeple back.

this would also apply to cities as well.


This is exactly why I always try to keep at least one follower on hand at all times.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.