Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
22 Posts

Room 25» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dead player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Martin
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player dies, is his marker removed from the turn board? And if so, do the other markers shift to fill in the space?

For example:




In this scenario, if THE NERD dies, there is a gap at time -7. Is his piece removed from the turn board, and if so do the pieces shift right or left to fill in the gap? I'd imagine they shift to the right, because if THE SCIENTIST and THE DUDE shifted left, the game would be extended by one turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bas Damoiseaux
Netherlands
Munstergeleen
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the marker is just turned to the other side and NOT removed from the time board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Martin
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BigFood wrote:
I believe the marker is just turned to the other side and NOT removed from the time board.


I believe you, since it wouldn't modify the turns remaining (much like a shift 'right' wouldn't, but is this in the rules anywhere?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arnaud MATAGOT
France
Bordeaux
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Deviant wrote:
BigFood wrote:
I believe the marker is just turned to the other side and NOT removed from the time board.


I believe you, since it wouldn't modify the turns remaining (much like a shift 'right' wouldn't, but is this in the rules anywhere?



That is correct. Hence the "dead" side of the markers. sometimes we put the dead guys at the end to "read" the turn order more directly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Martin
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
K, thx.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matagot Contact
France
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The best way to deal with dead people is this:

- when a character dies, flip it on its "dead" side and keep it on the round track.

- when a dead characters arrives in the first player position, simply remove it from the track

That way you insure you will keep the right number of turns.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GiB GiB
France
flag msg tools
matagot_contact wrote:
The best way to deal with dead people is this:

- when a character dies, flip it on its "dead" side and keep it on the round track.

- when a dead characters arrives in the first player position, simply remove it from the track

That way you insure you will keep the right number of turns.


Doesn't that mess with the turn order ?

Suppose that during turn n, order is 1-2-3-4 where player 1 is dead.
During the next turn, who should be the first player, 2 or 3 ?
I feel that the order should be 2-3-4-(1), but if you remove the P1 marker, the order becomes 3-4-2...

(this was important in one of our games, where I was P3, P2 was a revealed guard, and I wondered if I could afford to be in the same room as him...)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GiBc wrote:
Doesn't that mess with the turn order ?


No. The operative word is "arrives".

But you can also keep the dead player marker there for the rest of the game, it does not really matter.
(Edit: Okay, it does matter. The first player can not be dead, otherwise the next player gets two first-turns.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GiB GiB
France
flag msg tools
Just to be clear, suppose turn order is initially 1-2-3-4 (P1 going first) and Player 2 dies on the first turn.
How do you preoceed with the order ? I can see two different options :

Option 1 :
- Turn 1 : 1-(2)-3-4
- Turn 2 : (2)-3-4-1, remove P2's marker
- Turn 3 : 4-1-3

Option 2 :
- Turn 1 : 1-(2)-3-4
- Turn 2 : (2)-3-4-1, leave P2's marker in place
- Turn 3 : 3-4-1-(2)

As you can see, this yields different results for the position of player 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, it's easy to get confused.

You just have to make sure to check the first player status at the beginning of the round, and remove if he/she's dead. I.e. after moving the first-player token to the end, not before. That way the order stays correct and the timer also runs correctly.

We also have needed to think about this a few times...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Chien
United States
Rancho Cucamonga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Isn't it easier to just have the player's marker remain on the board, but on the dead side, and just skip that player whenever it would be their turn?

Cameron
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zeede wrote:
Isn't it easier to just have the player's marker remain on the board


Yes. :-) And we sometimes don't even remember to flip it to the dead side.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Romeo
Canada
Chicoutimi
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmb
Well doesn't it lead to the next player being the first player twice? I think you should remove it and immediatly move the new first player last at the end of the turn, to prevent this.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan مروان
Canada
Metro Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that the order of play goes like this:

- Turn 1: 1-(2)-3-4
- Turn 2: (2)-3-4-1, remove P2's marker
- Continue with turn 2: 3-4-1
- Turn 3: 4-1-3

Hope that is correct...And I hope it is helpful for other new players :-)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marwan_marwan wrote:
My understanding is that the order of play goes like this:

- Turn 1: 1-(2)-3-4
- Turn 2: (2)-3-4-1, remove P2's marker
- Continue with turn 2: 3-4-1
- Turn 3: 4-1-3

Hope that is correct...And I hope it is helpful for other new players :-)


That's correct !
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwan مروان
Canada
Metro Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, and HAPPY NEW YEAR.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berik Ts
msg tools
It is not correct.

Let's face it (and I including).
a simple example:

I'm the third player.

1,2,I,4 _ _ _ The End

I am a traitor and I specifically kill the second player.

1,X,3,4 _ _ _ The End

This means that in the next round I'll go first because the second is dead and passes the turn.

X,3,4,1 _ _ End

And in the next round I'll go first.

3,4,1,X _ The End

But if you removed the dead from the track time, you deprive me of the benefits that I myself have created, and instead of two moves, I go first once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reading the rules you remove dead people from the end head of the queue.

Edits: damn, I keep forgetting which way is head and tail. But the rules are clear. If the first player is dead, the token is removed. You do not get to be first player twice in a row.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berik Ts
msg tools
This should not be. perhaps in the future it will happen again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berik Ts
msg tools
Where in the rules does it say that?
The rules say only the sequence at the end of round.
Nowhere does it say to remove the tokens from the field!!!
And why would the reverse side of the badge?
Think with your head.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confident I have seen somewhere the instruction to flip tokens to their dead side when a player is eliminated and how to remove them. But it has been 3 years ago, so I don't remember where. (Matagot has also answered in this thread like jhsa points out below.)

The rules do not say eliminated/executed/killed players cannot take actions either. But in our games eliminated players cannot take actions.

You can call these our house rules then.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Janne
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Earlier in the thread: Posted Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:15 pm

matagot_contact wrote:
The best way to deal with dead people is this:

- when a character dies, flip it on its "dead" side and keep it on the round track.

- when a dead characters arrives in the first player position, simply remove it from the track

That way you insure you will keep the right number of turns.


So you are not the first player twice in succession.

The rulebook itself is very unclear about dead characters, they are only mentioned in suspicion mode and how it relates to revealing.

3 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.