Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Pandemic: On the Brink» Forums » General

Subject: Revision of roles in upcoming reprint rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Inquisitive Meeple
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
The Inquisitive Meeple
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On Facebook Zman posted the new Epidemiologist card from the new On the Brink edition that comes out this year. Looks like they are revising the epidemiologist role. The card now reads:

Quote:
Once during your turn you may (with permission) take any City card from a player in the same city with you. Doing this is not an action.


So it will no longer cost an action to do this.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Inquisitive Meeple
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
The Inquisitive Meeple
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The second part of the Field Operative will now read:

Quote:
When you Discover a Cure, you may replace 2 of the needed City cards with 3 cubes of the cure color from this card.


EDIT: Let me say this isn't a change in power like the Epidemiologist, but a change to make the role clearer when playing with various parts of the expansions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
Sanders wrote:
The second part of the Field Operative will now read:

Quote:
When you Discover a Cure, you may replace 2 of the needed City cards with 3 cubes of the cure color from this card.


Wasn't that always the effect, just with different wording? 3 cards + 3 cubes = cure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon M
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
“Games give you a chance to excel, and if you're playing in good company you don't even mind if you lose because you had the enjoyment of the company during the course of the game.” ― Gary Gygax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sanders wrote:
On Facebook Zman posted the new Epidemiologist card from the new On the Brink edition that comes out this year. Looks like they are revising the epidemiologist role. The card now reads:

Quote:
Once during your turn you may (with permission) take any City card from a player in the same city with you. Doing this is not an action.


So it will no longer cost an action to do this.


This, is interesting.

Sanders wrote:
The second part of the Field Operative will now read:

Quote:
When you Discover a Cure, you may replace 2 of the needed City cards with 3 cubes of the cure color from this card.


Hmm, I am not sure if I like this wording anymore the original. The Field Operative is definitely a difficult skill to condense into a manageable size to be printed on a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon M
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
“Games give you a chance to excel, and if you're playing in good company you don't even mind if you lose because you had the enjoyment of the company during the course of the game.” ― Gary Gygax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seahawk wrote:
Sanders wrote:
The second part of the Field Operative will now read:

Quote:
When you Discover a Cure, you may replace 2 of the needed City cards with 3 cubes of the cure color from this card.


Wasn't that always the effect, just with different wording? 3 cards + 3 cubes = cure.


Yes, but it is definitely a change in the card wording. I guess it is for clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Posey
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sanders wrote:
On Facebook Zman posted the new Epidemiologist card from the new On the Brink edition that comes out this year. Looks like they are revising the epidemiologist role. The card now reads:

Quote:
Once during your turn you may (with permission) take any City card from a player in the same city with you. Doing this is not an action.


So it will no longer cost an action to do this.

This is interesting. With all the complaining and moaning about the role, I figured they would adjust it somehow, but I would have never guessed this. I thought they would say something along the lines of "you could only take 1 card from each person a turn" or "you can only take 1 card of each color a turn". I'll have to try this out soon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Inquisitive Meeple
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
The Inquisitive Meeple
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seahawk wrote:


Wasn't that always the effect, just with different wording? 3 cards + 3 cubes = cure.


Also, as someone pointed out on facebook - the new wording also seems to perhaps take in the account the Complex Molecular Structure card in Virulent Strain expansion set. (Which would need 4 cards + 3 cubes).


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Sanders wrote:
the new wording also seems to perhaps take in the account the Complex Molecular Structure card in Virulent Strain expansion set.

And how it works with purple. And how it works with other effects that adjust the cards needed to Discover a Cure (there are several in ITL).
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
Ah, that makes sense. I didn't realize that had been a point of confusion.

(And Tom, thanks for all the time you've spent in these forums answering questions!)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Textor
United States
Ames
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow! That role just got interesting. I always felt it was underpowered before. This gives it some teeth. I might start playing it that way with my old set.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caitlyn Paget
Canada
Toronto
ON
flag msg tools
...
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am an epidemiologist in real life, so the underpowered epi role was always a disappointment for me.

To deal with this, I've houseruled it to add a skill to the epi:
- Once per turn you make discard ANY city card to fly directly to the research station of your choice.

This revision is the opposite of the Operations Specialist revision, and I find it just keeps the epi in the game more. In my experience, it's a good balance with the other roles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yannick Huijsman
Netherlands
flag msg tools
So does anyone know of a way to edit the Epidemologist to reflect this rule change? Or to make a custom role card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Squiz
United Kingdom
Guildford
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sanders wrote:
On Facebook Zman posted the new Epidemiologist card from the new On the Brink edition that comes out this year. Looks like they are revising the epidemiologist role. The card now reads:

Quote:
Once during your turn you may (with permission) take any City card from a player in the same city with you. Doing this is not an action.


So it will no longer cost an action to do this.


Sorry to bump this thread, but is it me or is the wording on the card wrong? surely it should be "take a card from a player in the same city as you" not 'with you'

just a minor quibble, but i just received my new otb edition, spotted it on the card and its bugging me
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
squiz wrote:

Sorry to bump this thread, but is it me or is the wording on the card wrong? surely it should be "take a card from a player in the same city as you" not 'with you'

just a minor quibble, but i just received my new otb edition, spotted it on the card and its bugging me


"Same city with you" and "same city as you" mean the same thing, two pawns together, so I don't see why you'd call the wording wrong.

Unless you just mean grammatically.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
I'm pretty sure this is just a grammar criticism.

Either "as" or "with" is grammatically correct in this instance, depending on whether one wants to emphasize the parallel construction of "in the same city" or the prepositional relationship ("with you") between the players. I chose to emphasize the latter. YMMV.

In sentences without both of these elements (e.g. "Boulder is in the same state as Denver." or "St. Paul, with Minneapolis, are the 'Twin Cities' of Minnesota."), using either "as" or "with" is straight-forward. When both elements are present, you gotta pick one. ;-)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with the two previous comments. The two phrases say the same thing, in different ways.

"A player in the same city as you" means "A player in the city that you are in." I.e., identify the city you are in, and then look for players in that city.

"A player in the same city with you" means "A player who is with you in a city." I.e., look for players who have the property of being with you, and both of you are in a city.

The two phrases identify the same set of players, in different ways. The only difference would be that "a player in the same city as you" could perhaps include yourself, but "a player in the same city with you" couldn't include yourself, because you can't be with yourself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Squiz
United Kingdom
Guildford
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks for clarifying. Re-reading it from another angle i can see where you are coming from. Still doesn't sound quite right to me but it doesn't make any difference in the grand scheme of things!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Yan
China
Shanghai
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the info.

AFAIK, Troubleshooter is also clarified (the second ability):

When moving to a city via a Direct Flight, the Troubleshooter reveals the City card used to the other players (but does not discard it). She may do this when moving other pawns via the Event Special Orders, but not when being moved by other players.

The bold part is new comparing to the old version. I had never thought this ability could be interpreted this way before (any existing FAQ for that?).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
prograft wrote:
When moving to a city via a Direct Flight, the Troubleshooter reveals the City card used to the other players (but does not discard it). She may do this when moving other pawns via the Event Special Orders, but not when being moved by other players.

The bold part is new comparing to the old version.

No, there is no change. This is the way it's always been. In the original OTB rules, this was alluded to in the Special Orders notes -- "must discard (or reveal)" -- see page 4 of those rules. We decided to make this more explicit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.