BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: How to gain credits in game design rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Shakra
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Hey guys I am an avid game designer. I have designed a magic the gathering set, a mini- board game. etc. But I was wondering how I can get someone to look at my work and see my attributes as a game designer without having a legal issue with intellectual property law. I know a head designer at Wizards of the Coast as he was from my home town but he cannot look at my design work, nor does he know enough about my design aptitude to give me a recommendation. My reason for asking this is there is an internship at Riot Games who made the popular League Of Legends game with came from Dota All-Stars on warcraft III. Originally, when i was in 8/9th grade when the Mod came out I submitted lots of ideas on the mod's websites forums which were implemented in the live updates of the game. Later on when League of legends and other Moba's were being developed the websites data was I assumed copied off the internet and put into the companies databases deleting the content and not crediting anyone. I understand it was my fault for not owning the ideas but back then i was just doing it for fun didn't think the game would take off the way it has now. So how can I prove myself to Riot Games that I am a great designer and how can I get people to recommend me for game design?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
mbmbmbmbmb
Moved to Board Game Design.

Hopefully someone can shed some light...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Shakra
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Should i make a TLDR ?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Riddle
United States
Oxford
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb