Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Castle Ravenloft Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Artemis Entreri Special Ability Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
His special ability says that when he places a monster he can place it on any unexplored edge. In the mission "Icon of Ravenloft" the mission itself states "Each player places a monster ON THE CHAPEL TILE" when you reveal the chapel (Caps on purpose lol)

The Artemis player said his character can place any monster he drawns on any unexplored edge, and I said "Normally, yes, when you draw a monster card during exploration - but this specific mission's text STATES place monsters in chapel."

We got in a small argument - who was right? He says he can use the power, I said that normally he can but the mission was very specific in stating what you do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's an unfortunate side effect of a vaguely/terse rulebook. The rulebook states:

Quote:
When you have to “place a Monster,” this is shorthand for
draw a Monster Card and place the corresponding Monster
figure on the bone pile that’s on the Dungeon Tile you just
placed. If you already have the same Monster Card in play
in front of you, discard that Monster Card and draw again.
Note, however, that it’s okay to draw a Monster Card if
another player has the same Monster in play.

Pg 7 of Castle Ravenloft rulebook, bold added


So whenever you see that *exact* term, "place a Monster" then you know you are doing a draw a Monster Card during the Exploration phase. On Artemis Entreri's card, his special ability is:

Quote:
Whenever you place a Monster, you can
place a Monster on any tile with an
unexplored edge.

Legend of Drizzt's Artemis Entreri's card, bold added


Notice how it's the exact same term? The Entreri card is referring to when the official "place a Monster" part of the Exploration Phase. It is not referring to any time that player happens to put a monster on the board.

Also, you have to remember that Artemis came with Dungeons & Dragons: The Legend of Drizzt Board Game, a game that came out about a year after Ravenloft did. So the quests in Ravenloft were not written with all the new special abilities in mind. If you intend to mix/match the components, then you should expect some awkward situations like this to arise and should just house-rule a solution to keep the game moving.

IMHO, the house-rule should be what makes sense. In this case, you uncover a room that's supposed to be brimming with monsters. But one monster just happens to be hanging way down some other hallway because he decided to take a bathroom break since he knew Entreri was coming into the dungeon? No, that's silly. Just put all the monsters in the room.

-shnar
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K.Y. Wong
Singapore
Gardens by the Bay
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Icon of Ravenloft" requires the party to defeat all the monsters drawn as a result of the chapel appearing. So if you were to place the monsters far away, it might actually make victory more difficult to achieve.

In any case, adventure rules should always be strictly followed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not necessarily:

Quote:
Victory: The Heroes win this adventure when they destroy all
of the Monsters placed on the Chapel and recover the Icon of
Ravenloft.


They only need to destroy the Monsters "placed on the Chapel", so if one of the monsters was placed far away, i.e. not on the Chapel tile, then it's outside the victory conditions.

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K.Y. Wong
Singapore
Gardens by the Bay
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Not necessarily:

Quote:
Victory: The Heroes win this adventure when they destroy all
of the Monsters placed on the Chapel and recover the Icon of
Ravenloft.


They only need to destroy the Monsters "placed on the Chapel", so if one of the monsters was placed far away, i.e. not on the Chapel tile, then it's outside the victory conditions.

-shnar

Bleh, technicalities. You just caught the monster on a toilet break.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.