Jonne Loikkanen
Finland
flag msg tools
Surge/doomed are not considered 'when revealed' effects and thus cannot be canceled using 'Eleanor' or 'Will of the west'.

So there's no way to counter these effects once revealed. So one can just use cards like Denethor to avoid these cards from being drawn.

Is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Fuller
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You have it correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Wilson
United Kingdom
Peterborough
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is only one way Surge and doomed are cancelled and that is if Thalin kills the enemy with his ability as it is added to the staging area. As per the FAQ the surge or doomed keyword would not take effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brother Leon
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 GG for this thinking it was a Geek Badge...
Avatar
mb
Doesn't Elfhelm reduce "Doomed" effects by 1?



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're correct about Elfhelm. And if your threat is raised again as the result of questing unsuccessfully, he'd reduce that by 1 as well. Note that he must be ready and not exhausted, so he makes a good designated attacker/defender or you need a means of readying him after committing him to the quest.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brother Leon
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 GG for this thinking it was a Geek Badge...
Avatar
mb
Thanks

Only way i could beat Return to Mirkwood solo was with this card in the deck.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.