Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crew Change Sequence Qustion: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
I just finished reading the rule book for the first time, also watched Ricky Royal's walkthrough. Everything flowed right along. This particular action I had to read again. Just to make sure:

On your turn you spend 2AP and in that space you can use your leftover AP to make use of the skills of whatever new firefighter you've chosen to change with. THEN on that player's next turn you remove that pawn and place the new character's pawn in one of the 2 parking spots where the Engine is located and begin your full turn there? Is that correct?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
zanti_misfit wrote:
I just finished reading the rule book for the first time, also watched Ricky Royal's walkthrough. Everything flowed right along. This particular action I had to read again. Just to make sure:

On your turn you spend 2AP and in that space you can use your leftover AP to make use of the skills of whatever new firefighter you've chosen to change with. THEN on that player's next turn you remove that pawn and place the new character's pawn in one of the 2 parking spots where the Engine is located and begin your full turn there? Is that correct?

Thanks in advance.

No.

1) You must start your turn on the truck (whichever of the two spaces that you entered in on the previous turn)
2) You spend 2 AP to select a new character card.
3) You are a new character with the same pawn as before, just with different abilities.
4) You spend the balance of your APs to do whatever you want to in your new role.
8 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
Ah, so you must return to the truck first to change roles, gotcha. Thank you for clarifying that for me Brian. I must have read right over that and missed it. So far that's the only rule in the book that left me a little confused.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
zanti_misfit wrote:
Ah, so you must return to the truck first to change roles, gotcha.

Yes, that is correct.

It is a costly price to pay (more than the 2 AP would suggest at first glance). You need to get back to the truck (made easier if you get knocked down of course!) and kill the rest of that turn. Then you "change clothes," so to speak, and will be left with anywhere from 1-3 AP based on your character selection (plus any left over AP tokens from previous rounds) to get back into the fight.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
zanti_misfit wrote:
Ah, so you must return to the truck first to change roles, gotcha.

Yes, that is correct.

It is a costly price to pay (more than the 2 AP would suggest at first glance). You need to get back to the truck (made easier if you get knocked down of course!) and kill the rest of that turn. Then you "change clothes," so to speak, and will be left with anywhere from 1-3 AP based on your character selection (plus any left over AP tokens from previous rounds) to get back into the fight.


I do not believe that you get to retain stored AP from previous rounds.

When you change, you wipe all AP, change identities and then and have 2 AP fewer than the normal allotment for the chosen character for the remainder of the turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
byronczimmer wrote:
I do not believe that you get to retain stored AP from previous rounds.

When you change, you wipe all AP, change identities and then and have 2 AP fewer than the normal allotment for the chosen character for the remainder of the turn.

Where is that at in the rules? I am looking at the pdf copy and there is no mention of it here. Why wouldn't you get to keep it? It is no different than carrying over up to 4 AP from any other turn to another turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't get to the rules right now, but will check later in the evening.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
byronczimmer wrote:
I can't get to the rules right now, but will check later in the evening.

I'll check mine too because the pdf I have here at work is corrupted in one section so maybe they added it. The only verbiage I see is that you start the turn with the AP of your new character, not your old character, minus the 2 AP for the change. In other words, you can't start as the generalist, change to something else, but then still have 3 AP to spend.

But there is nothing overriding the rule that you can keep up to 4 AP from the *previous* turn nor any instruction to discard any action tokens. Those should remain with the player, not the character.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Textor
United States
Ames
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 9 ... "Player may swap their existing Specialist card with and Specialist card not currently in play. The player's Firefighter has the AP (less the 2 AP required for a crew change) and special abilities of the newly selected Specialist for the entire turn."

There's no mention of losing AP or even saved AP. Maybe that's somebody's house rule. But requiring that a crew change be done as the FIRST action of their turn does in fact make it a pretty costly maneuver. Doing it more than once per game doesn't make a whole lot of sense. It's just a good way to get the Hazmat Technician out of the game after he's done his job.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noble Knave
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eggrocket wrote:
Page 9 ... "Player may swap their existing Specialist card with and Specialist card not currently in play. The player's Firefighter has the AP (less the 2 AP required for a crew change) and special abilities of the newly selected Specialist for the entire turn."

There's no mention of losing AP or even saved AP. Maybe that's somebody's house rule. But requiring that a crew change be done as the FIRST action of their turn does in fact make it a pretty costly maneuver. Doing it more than once per game doesn't make a whole lot of sense. It's just a good way to get the Hazmat Technician out of the game after he's done his job.


I've found a really powerful combo is to have the Driver/Operator switch back and forth to Fire Captain as needed. When the fire is raging, the D/O can lay down on it quickly, and once it's calmed the FC can stay with the truck and give 6 extra Movement to the other characters as needed. Plus they each can be fairly productive on the turn you make the switch and have no need to ever leave the truck.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Collin W.
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thenobleknave wrote:
and once it's calmed the FC can stay with the truck and give 6 extra Movement to the other characters as needed. Plus they each can be fairly productive on the turn you make the switch and have no need to ever leave the truck.


You do mean 2ap to three other players right? You aren't giving each player his 4ap and 2ap for movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noble Knave
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Collasta wrote:
thenobleknave wrote:
and once it's calmed the FC can stay with the truck and give 6 extra Movement to the other characters as needed. Plus they each can be fairly productive on the turn you make the switch and have no need to ever leave the truck.


You do mean 2ap to three other players right? You aren't giving each player his 4ap and 2ap for movement?


I could be wrong here, but my interpretation of the FC's power is:

A) He can use his normal AP as Command AP to move other players, including having them open doors.
B) In addition to his 4 normal AP, he gets 2 free Command AP that must be used as such.

Could somebody back me up or correct me if I'm misinterpreting the rules?

EDIT: To clarify, each Command AP is used as a single Move action on a single other player, but you can have another player Carry a victim by spending 2 Command AP at once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
thenobleknave wrote:
Collasta wrote:
thenobleknave wrote:
and once it's calmed the FC can stay with the truck and give 6 extra Movement to the other characters as needed. Plus they each can be fairly productive on the turn you make the switch and have no need to ever leave the truck.


You do mean 2ap to three other players right? You aren't giving each player his 4ap and 2ap for movement?


I could be wrong here, but my interpretation of the FC's power is:

A) He can use his normal AP as Command AP to move other players, including having them open doors.
B) In addition to his 4 normal AP, he gets 2 free Command AP that must be used as such.

Could somebody back me up or correct me if I'm misinterpreting the rules?

EDIT: To clarify, each Command AP is used as a single Move action on a single other player, but you can have another player Carry a victim by spending 2 Command AP at once.

Yes, he gets 4 AP he can spend on himself or use to MOVE other players (this include opening/closing doors and moving with victims/hazmats).

He also gets 2 more AP specifically used for this purpose of moving others but not doing anything for himself. He also cannot save these points. Only 1 of these points can be used on the CAFS.

Also note that any AP he has saved can be used in this manner as well. So the FC could give up to 10 Command points moving people around in one turn.

And back to the other question, I still don't see anything in the printed rulebook that would make me believe I lose stored AP when changing roles.
3 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
Lots of great info here, I'm soaking it all up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.