Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a fleet is set out on an amph. invasion mission, it can launch accompanying ground units on invasions within the invasion zone, three consecutive sea zones, correct?

So, does the phasing player's fleet officially occupy one or more of those adjacent sea zones? Does it move to the first zone, launch any invasion, then move to the next zone and launch another invasion?

It's not clear to me from the rules how determine which sea zone fleets occupy at any given moment, and that seems to matter a great deal when deciding on interception attempts

Where and when do interception attempts happen?

As an example from the Norway scenario:

The Germans have fleet in Kiel with three breakdown units embarked. They want to send two of those units to invade Oslo and one of them to invade Bergen. Does the fleet move into the West Baltic, launch the invasion of Oslo, then move through the Danish North Sea into the Norwegian Sea to launch the invasion of Bergen?

A couple of related interception questions:

Since the Western Allies cannot move into the West Baltic one Denmark falls, I presume they cannot attempt interception there?

If a force attempts to intercept in a sea zone and fails, is that the final interception attempt allowed in that zone? or could the British attempt to intercept in the Danish North Sea and, if they fail, attempt to intercept again in the Danish North Sea with a completely different naval force?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernie Copley
United States
Cumberland Center
Maine
flag msg tools
designer
fatgreta wrote:
If a fleet is set out on an amph. invasion mission, it can launch accompanying ground units on invasions within the invasion zone, three consecutive sea zones, correct?

So, does the phasing player's fleet officially occupy one or more of those adjacent sea zones? Does it move to the first zone, launch any invasion, then move to the next zone and launch another invasion?

It's not clear to me from the rules how determine which sea zone fleets occupy at any given moment, and that seems to matter a great deal when deciding on interception attempts

Where and when do interception attempts happen?

As an example from the Norway scenario:

The Germans have fleet in Kiel with three breakdown units embarked. They want to send two of those units to invade Oslo and one of them to invade Bergen. Does the fleet move into the West Baltic, launch the invasion of Oslo, then move through the Danish North Sea into the Norwegian Sea to launch the invasion of Bergen?

A couple of related interception questions:

Since the Western Allies cannot move into the West Baltic one Denmark falls, I presume they cannot attempt interception there?

If a force attempts to intercept in a sea zone and fails, is that the final interception attempt allowed in that zone? or could the British attempt to intercept in the Danish North Sea and, if they fail, attempt to intercept again in the Danish North Sea with a completely different naval force?


Hi Chris, in order:

1) I think you mean three contiguous Sea Areas, rather than consecutive ones, but okay, so far so good;

2) yes it does - a German Fleet carrying, say, two 2-5 INF breakdown units and a 1-5 INF breakdown, can land a 2-5 INF on the beach at Oslo (west Baltic Sea Area), then move tthroug the Danish North Sea Area to the Norwegian Sea Area to land the other 2-5 INF at Bergen's beach hex, then land the 1-5 INF at Trondheim;

3) the German Fleet in this case can be intercepted by the British in the the Danish Sea Area or the Norwegian Sea Area...the British player can interrupt the German player at any time and and announce he's making an interception attempt in any one ofthose two Sea Areas. The Brits cannot go into the West Baltic (see Section 7.3, Straits Sea Areas) unless they control Sweden or Denmark, so they can't intercept in that Sea Area.

4) yes, your example is accurate;

5) correct - the West Baltic is out of bounds; usually it's a moot point (at leadt in 1940), as the Luftwaffe would probably sink whatever British Fleets were sent into the West Baltic anyway;

6) no to the former, yes to the latter - if, say, two British Fleets at Scapa Flow tried to intercept in the Danish North Sea Area and failed, those two Fleets are done - but another couple of British Fleets based in, say Rosyth, could try for an interception in the Danish North Sea Area after the Scapa force's attempt. Each naval force can try to intercept, a naval force being everyone based in the same port.

Hope this helps,

ernie

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, that was helpful, and very fast!

Am I reading correctly that each non-phasing naval force may make an interception attempt each time an enemy force moves within range, until it succeeds in an interception?

So, for instance, a Brit fleet in Rosyth fails an intercept roll in the North Danish Sea, the Axis moves into the Norwegian Sea, the same force can try again?

Does each moving naval force (phasing player's) finishes its movement (dealing with any naval combat resulting from intercepts), before the phasing player begins moving another force? Or does the phasing player designate all missions, then the non-phasing makes all intercept attempts?

Can multiple forces attempt to intercept in the same zone (a force in Rosyth and then a force in Scapa Flow attempting to intercept the same forces in North Danish?)

If so, can non-phasing player observe results of first attempt before committing additional forces? If both air and naval units attempt intercepts in a zone adjacent to the air unit, is air still automatic but naval force must roll?

Finally, I think, do all rules for intercepts apply to counter interception?

Many thanks,

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernie Copley
United States
Cumberland Center
Maine
flag msg tools
designer
fatgreta wrote:
Thank you, that was helpful, and very fast!

Am I reading correctly that each non-phasing naval force may make an interception attempt each time an enemy force moves within range, until it succeeds in an interception?

So, for instance, a Brit fleet in Rosyth fails an intercept roll in the North Danish Sea, the Axis moves into the Norwegian Sea, the same force can try again?

Does each moving naval force (phasing player's) finishes its movement (dealing with any naval combat resulting from intercepts), before the phasing player begins moving another force? Or does the phasing player designate all missions, then the non-phasing makes all intercept attempts?

Can multiple forces attempt to intercept in the same zone (a force in Rosyth and then a force in Scapa Flow attempting to intercept the same forces in North Danish?)

If so, can non-phasing player observe results of first attempt before committing additional forces? If both air and naval units attempt intercepts in a zone adjacent to the air unit, is air still automatic but naval force must roll?

Finally, I think, do all rules for intercepts apply to counter interception?

Many thanks,

Chris


Hi Chris - okay, in order:

1) mostly right, except for the phrase "...until it succeeeds..." It's perfectly possible for a Scapa-based British naval force to attempt interception of a Trondheim-bound German Fleet, miss that one, and then try to intercept a (different) Narvik-bound German Fleet, and miss that one too. In each case, the Brits will pick one Sea Area to make their interception attempt. If they miss both German Fleets, that's it, no more rolls. As I previously noted, another British naval force would make it own roll or rolls.

2) as in "1)" above, no it can't - the Rosyth force gets one try per enemy naval force. If the Rosyth force misses its target, that's the end of the effort. If there's a second German naval force out there conducting a mission, the Rosyth guys (who by definition haven't been committed yet, since they missed the first German naval force) can try to intercept that second German force.

If you think about the practical implications, the rule is there not just for administrative simplicity, but also because if one could try to intercept the same naval force over and over, interception would be nearly automatic. The implications for Malta would be very severe.

3) It's the former, not the latter;

4) yes, absolutely;

5) first part, yes, as a logical inference of the above interpretations; second part, yes - if the Sea Area is adjacent to the air unit's base, interception of enemy naval forces is automatic, but intercepting naval forces must roll;

6) yes, same process,

Hope this is helpful,

ernie
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.