Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: New player and casting spells rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefan Tymoshyshyn
England
Liskeard
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When casting spells in a pvp combat does the attacking player cast the first spell then the defender and then the attacker with as many spells as he wants to follow up with ?
also, when "both characters roll a die to determine their attack rolls" do they roll them simultaneously ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah Wood
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since it is the attacking player's turn, it is customary for them to 'fire the first volley'
Bear in mind some of the following to be safe:
This isn't like Magic: the Gathering. There is no waiting for resolution or things like that. If a card is in play, then it's in play. do what it says immediately unless another card says otherwise. (this trips up my play group because we are ALL Magic players)
The Attacking player can cast any number of spells his turn, up to the number he had at the start of his turn.
All other players may only cast 1 spell (because it's not their turn).

For rolling Dice: it doesn't really matter as long as you don't have 'fudgers'.
All modifiers must be in place before players roll dice. Same for Creatures, same for other players.
If you have someone who fudges modifiers, by wanting to see what the other player's result is first, then apply modifiers, you have an issue.
We have a system in our play group that until the attacking player requests a Dice roll (Creatures or other players) Modifiers can still be used. Once a player requests a dice roll, he is done applying modifiers and the other players have the chance to stack them before both players are ready to actually roll dice.

Rolling the dice is the end, the only thing afterwards is spending fate., which the rulebook states fairly clearly. Attacker decides to use fate if any. Defender has the option to spend Fate. Then players who spent fate reroll and combat is over.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Tymoshyshyn
England
Liskeard
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for very thorough reply....So if It was my turn I may play e.g. 3 spells but presumably they would be resolved one at a time ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex F
Israel
Ashdod
Negev
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During your turn, you may cast as many spells as you had at the beginning of that turn. So, for instance if you had no Spells at the beginning of your turn, and then gained one or more Spells as a result of an encounter or some other game event, you may not cast them on the same turn even if the casting condition is satisfied.

If you had 3 spells at the beginning of your turn, you may cast all 3 during that turn if their casting condition allows it(for instance, some spells may only be cast during another player's turn).

You may only cast one spell during another player's turn.

See Casting Spells on page 13 of the rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.