Mike Smith-Stoe
United States
Maple Valley
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The pertinent text:

Quote:
If an opponent would claim an achievement, first you claim it if eligible.

Does "claim an achievement" only mean claiming the standard achievements? Or could Shivaji be used to block your opponents from achieving from Echo cards like Soap and Charitable Trust?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Smith-Stoe
United States
Maple Valley
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So someone, oh let's call him Mike, activates Soap. Mike tucks 3 red cards. Assuming Mike has 5 points he could choose to achieve a [1] from his hand. ... But Mike's opponent, oh let's call him Jerkface, has Shavaji and could achieve that [1]. Ignoring the fact that there probably is no good reason to choose to achieve, Mike chooses to achieve the [1] from his hand. Does Jerkface get to achieve the [1] from Mike's hand? Also I assume that either way the achievement from Soap does not trigger a draw of a Figure card for the non-achievers, due to it not being a standard achievement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Maxwell
United States
Burtchville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the FAQ at the end of the rulebook:

'Standard Achievement' refers to any base, Echoes or Figures card that ends up in your achievements pile, regardless of how it got there. So, if you claim a card as an achievement due to a dogma or karma effect, it will cause your opponents to draw a Figure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Chudyk
msg tools
designer
Mr_Nuts wrote:
From the FAQ at the end of the rulebook:

'Standard Achievement' refers to any base, Echoes or Figures card that ends up in your achievements pile, regardless of how it got there. So, if you claim a card as an achievement due to a dogma or karma effect, it will cause your opponents to draw a Figure.


Unfortunately, as stated in another thread, this FAQ is not correct.

An opponent is entitled to a Figure draw only on the achievement gained from taking an Achievement action. Karma and dogma effects do not count.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Maxwell
United States
Burtchville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good to know!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.