Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dummy player and the source rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Woody
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
Ok, probably a silly question, but the game setup says the source gets one die for each ACTUAL player +2. I have been rolling 3 die for solo games (1 ACTUAL player +2). But, in the walkthroughs I have watched they roll 4. Is the dummy player considered an ACTUAL player for purposes of setting up the source?

Thanks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Woody
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mb
So 3 dice for the source is correct? And for the unit offer?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartow Riggs
United States
Antelope
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jhwedmd wrote:
So 3 dice for the source is correct? And for the unit offer?



Yes. The most popular video (walkthrough) is incorrect. the dummy player does NOT count for the source or unit offer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Tine'
Italy
Genoa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You might want to bookmark the official FAQ thread.

Check out question #3: when playing solo you cast 3 dice for the source as well as draw 3 units for the unit offer.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Plei Forejoy
Singapore
flag msg tools
This space for rent!
badge
Painting all these miniatures is starting to crimp my time...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jhwedmd wrote:
Ok, probably a silly question, but the game setup says the source gets one die for each ACTUAL player +2. I have been rolling 3 die for solo games (1 ACTUAL player +2). But, in the walkthroughs I have watched they roll 4. Is the dummy player considered an ACTUAL player for purposes of setting up the source?

Thanks

If you are referring to Paul Grogan's Walkthrough of 1st turn of solo game, he already stated he made a mistake about the dummy in the comments.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BartowWing wrote:
jhwedmd wrote:
So 3 dice for the source is correct? And for the unit offer?



Yes. The most popular video (walkthrough) is incorrect. the dummy player does NOT count for the source or unit offer.


I really should get round to putting some kind of annotation on that soon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.