Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Risk Legacy» Forums » General

Subject: First 3 games + rules questions (SPOILERS) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So today I played my first 3 games of risk legacy with 4 player. Usually I like eurogames better for the strategy. My impression was that this game is less strategic than many euros but can generate tons of laughs. I haven't played any kind of risk before (Yeah, those people still exist (: ) so I can't really compare. The first game was fun and very short. In the second we saw some of the effects of the scars and cities but the game was still pretty mundane (but fun!).
I'll call the players N, D and A. "I" will of course refer to myself (: .
In both games we didn't notice the rule that says that you always recruit at least 3 troops per turn, which had a huge impact on me. In both games I have fallen behind and only got 1-2 troops per turn. It was a little annoying but I still had fun just in trying to survive. Especially when in the second game I managed to get another player to attack someone else by pure diplomacy. If he had attacked me I would only have one territory left and would have been eliminated very soon afterwards. I ended up controling Japan and nothing else, and established there a city called "tentacles". And now I know It's not an intristic problem of the game so it's okay.
In the third game N decided that he wants to open envelopes more than he wants to win. That's understandable because we knew in advance it was going to be our last game for the day, but I don't think it should be done. We decided not to do this anymore, but this led to a very memorable game in which 3 envelopes were opened!
So I started in a very good position which made me a target (australia with some scars). However N and A made a strategic mistake by allying with D, even when he became much stronger than me. N justified it by wanting to open envelopes, as D already won once and if he wins we get to open an envelope. I of course tried to win anyways, as did A once he realized his mistake, but D was already very powerful. I on the other hand was badly beaten and got eliminated a few turns later, which allowed me to open the matching package and discover the cool "comeback powers".
As D eliminated me, he also completed the task that almost seemed impossible - taking over asia! The previous alliance allowed him to get both parts of America, and with resources and other bonuses (and some help from N) he managed to get 30+ troops on the board. We opened the package and discovered...



So D was a collaborator all along! We laughed at this addition for a pretty long time. As we continued, A was eliminated too and D ended up winning so we opened a third envelope for the game, adding missions, events, and the concept of homelands. I'm really unsure how can we play with someone who didn't already play, as we have all those new things to explain.

Anyways some rules questions:
If I understood correctly, you recruit soldiers on your first turn too which mean that without modifications you end up with 11 starting men right?
It doesn't matter anymore, but if I understand correctly the alien island can connect to two territories and it can be any two right? It can be pretty powerful, but our D chose to be pretty conservative distance-wise. At least he opened another path to australia.
And last, the alien faction seems to lack a yellow slot. Does it mean weakness scars can't be used against them? Also the orange one whose porpuse is still unknown for me.

Thank you in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You recruit on the fist turn, too, so going first is powerful.
The island can connect to any coast, I am not sure if it could connect to inland areas (they are aliens, after all?).
Factions which don't have the slot cannot gain the weakness/ ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Martins
United States
Eugene
OR
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a related rules question, and I figured I'd put it in this already SPOILER-marked thread.

How does Alien Island interact with the Home Continent rules; and also the rules for getting extra units for controlling a whole continent.

It Alien Island a part of a continent? Is Alien Island its own continent? Is Alien Island no continent?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
c: alien island is not part of any continent.

I think....
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This subscription reminded me of another question that arose in another game - can we put a scar/build a city on alien island? Seems logical but the Island doesn't contain suitable "slots".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Rob said so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Daviau
United States
Unspecified
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. I just missed it when designing and proofing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.