Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dungeon Command: Sting of Lolth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Walls of web and Dryad... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dustin Ivey
United States
Vadnais Heights
Location:
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Walls of Web (commander ability) gives +2 movement to every spider and every drow on your team.

The Dryad Drider is both a Drow and a Spider, does this mean that she gets +4 to movement instead of +2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K.Y. Wong
Singapore
Gardens by the Bay
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think you mean the Drider. No, it adds 2 to base Speed so the Drider moves at Speed 12.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Ivey
United States
Vadnais Heights
Location:
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahh the keyword there was +2 to BASE SPEED...

So even if it did take effect twice (because Drider is both Spider and Drow) it still just adds 2 to base speed so it would simply replace the last "buff."

When it comes to keywords though, if something has 2 keywords that both benefit from the same effect, would it usually apply twice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nut
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
Well, it doesn't actually say "base speed"; it says "Add 2 to the Speed of each Spider and Drow creature you control."

I think it should not count double for the Drider, because it applies to each creature once if that creature meets the criteria. But it's another good example of why Dungeon Command would really benefit from a thorough FAQ from WotC.

To your other question: keyword abilities usually do not stack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Ivey
United States
Vadnais Heights
Location:
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But the rules don't say only once, it simply says every drow and spider creature you control each gets +2, technically the drider is both a drow and a spider.

This one is in the air ATM unless they clarify a bit, because technically the drider satisfies the conditions for the buff twice.

I will just have my gaming group vote on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K Scally
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Add 2 to the Speed of each Spider and Drow creature you control." is the exact quote.

Another way of interpreting this is that the Drider is the only creature that should benefit from +2 increased speed, since it is the only creature combining both attributes and thus the only member of the set 'Spider AND Drow'. Just like that boardgame 'Guess Who?'.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nut
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
Yeah it really probably ought to say "Spider or Drow creature".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.