Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

For the People» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cavalry Brigade in a Corps - Removing Enemy PC Markers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Burkley
United States
Hillsborough
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a Corps with a Cavalry Brigade remove enemy PC markers by expending movement as part of a Corps move?

The rules are clear about a separate Cavalry Brigade move, but appears silent on this question. The rules are also clear that if the rules do not state that you can do "something", then you cannot do that "something", so my initial conclusion is "no".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Kriener
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No - that's a unique capability of an army; corps - with or without cavalry brigades - do not have this capability:

Quote:
5.26 MOVEMENT AND POLITICAL CONTROL: An Army that contains one or more infantry SPs has a unique capability to convert an enemy PC marker or place a PC marker in a neutral or enemy-controlled space by expending an additional space of movement in the space.


Cavalry Brigades do NOT remove PC-markers during movement; they can only remove PC-markers if the player expends OPs points.
Quote:
5.53 CAVALRY RAID LIMITATIONS: Through the play of an OC in a strategy round, a Cavalry Brigade can remove an enemy PC marker in a friendly (one that bears the color code of that side) or border space. A Cavalry Brigade can never place a PC marker on the map.


Infantry SPs are better in this respect as they are ably not only to REMOVE PC-markers but also to PLACE PC-markers:
Quote:
11.3 Placing Political Control Markers: Strategy
Rounds
A player may use a Strategy Card to place PC markers on the board. If the Strategy Card is played as an EC, place the number of PC markers indicated within the specifications of the card. If the Strategy Card is played as an OC, then the number of PC markers placed is equal to the value of the OC.
RESTRICTIONS:
A) A player may place PC markers in any space that contains any number of friendly in supply infantry SPs or in a Border State space that is still neutral (no PC marker, enemy SP or forts present, Border State can be controlled by either side or neutral). Exception: See 5.53 Cavalry Brigade.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.