Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Sokalski
United States
Columbia
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've seen a number of games out there (e.g. Shadows over Camelot: The Card Game, Among the Stars) use square cards instead of rectangular cards. As a novice designer I must ask; why would a developer would use cards that are square instead of rectangular?

A couple things that immediately come to mind:
* Cost (can get more square cards for less money?)
* Differentiation (other cards in the game are rectangular and shouldn't be mixed with the square ones during the game)

Any other reasons?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Szalai
Hungary
flag msg tools
In the case of Among the Stars, you use the cards to build a station and it does matter where you put them, which cards will they be neighbours with. The final stations will look like this: http://boardgamegeek.com/image/1426153/among-the-stars
It looks much better and easier to use in this case, than with rectangular cards.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Most of all, this is a publication/presentation choice and has little to do with game design. Do your job and design your game and let the publisher do his job and figure out what it should look like, how to make it and then how to sell it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sarah Reed
United States
Rancho Cordova
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've usually seen square cards for tile-laying games so that the board is symmetrical.