Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Ancient Battles Deluxe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Making understanding Melee a lot easier rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tanks Alot
United States
Fort Mill
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
go2 Youtube Historical Gaming
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Melee for me is one of the toughest things to get right in this game, but I found once I changed the order of the rules it became much simpler
By calculating the strength modifier first, thhe whole sequence just falls into place
1) Calculate the strength modifier
2) Calculate terrain
3) Calculate attack vector modifier
4) Roll the die
Add them all together and that is the attack total
(Note the firepower of the unit is never added directly, it is only used in the calculation of the strength modifier)


1) Calculate the strength modifier. This is ratio of strength for the units involved in the melee.
For each side
+1 for unit itself
+1 for each leader with an x1
+2 cor each leader with an x2
+1 for Cavalry effective
This total is calculated for each side and multiplied by combat strength.

Example a 4 combat strength with an x1 leader is 8 (4CS x (1 for unit+1for leader)
a 4 combat strength unit with no leader is 4 (4 x (1 for unit + 0 for leader)

Now divide the total for each side.
8 to 4 would be a 2. You drop any decimals. This is the strength modifier that is added the dice roll, in addition terrain mods and tactical approach vectors.

The formula for each side is
Strength Modifier, + Terrain Mods, + Tactical approach

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Schmidt
United States
Maquoketa
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a couple of things missing from calculating the strength modifier. If the are equal, there is no strength modifier to either side. But if the battle is between a PX(strength 6) and a HI(strength 4), the higher would gain a +1 modifier, unless the opposing unit was not in it's zone of control. The zone of control requirement is only applicable to the +1 modifier, if it were higher the unit would receive the bonus regardless of the unit's placement in regards to the zone of control.

This is illustrated in example 3 on page 8 of the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.