Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Die Siedler von Catan: Historische Szenarien» Forums » Rules

Subject: Must cities connect? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Linsey
United States
Hudson
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Once you build a settlement, say an early one via auction, must all your later settlements connect to it via roads? Or can you build one out in the middle of nowhere which is not connected to your first one (on the normal build part of your turn)?

We played that you had to connect, but I'm not sure this is right. The rules aren't clear, saying only that trading and building are as per the rules in the standard game. In the standard game, you must connect, but then again in the standard game you start with two settlements.

Anyone?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Baumgartner
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is usually impossible to connect all your settlements that you get via the auction - it's the point of the auctions that player settlements start quite far apart and across settlements of other players. Trying to do so might get you the longest road, but there is no requirement to do so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Linsey
United States
Hudson
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
So are you saying that settlements don't have to connect even when they are built normally (viz. not acquired at auction)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Baumgartner
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot place a settlement on any intersection you like without preparation.

Apart from the auctioned settlements, the only way to build a settlement is by building the roads to that intersection first, and these roads have to have started at one of the settlements you get through the auctions (of course you can build past the first settlement not received by an auction).

If you get a settlement via the auction, you don't need to build a road next to it, but without roads you cannot expand from that settlement.

Alexander really is pretty much standard Catan, only with the initial settlement placement during play in the wake of the army, through the auctions.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.