Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trash face-up or face-down? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Nathanson
United States
Huntingdon Valley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
When Noises' ability is triggered: "Whenever you install a virus program, the Corp trashes the top card of R&D", does this card get trashed face up or down and if it is down, does the Corp get to look at the card first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Michealson
United States
Maple Grove
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Valuable bathroom real estate!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's trashed faced down. Basically the rule of thumb is this; the card is trashed in the same state. So if it was face down prior to trashing it, then it's trashed face down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From page 13 of the rulebook:
Quote:
Trashed cards go to Archives faceup if they are rezzed, and facedown if they are unrezzed.

Cards in R&D are not rezzed, and would go to the archive face-down.

The only exception is spelled out on page 18:
Quote:
If the Runner accesses a card with a trash cost, he may pay credits equal to its trash cost in order to trash it to Archives faceup.

This exception only applies to cards accessed by the runner as the result of a run.

Noise's ability does not access cards from R&D, it only trashes the top card indiscriminately. Thus the card is hidden, even in the archive.

-----

As for the second question, from page 6:
Quote:
Both the Corporation and Runner may look through the faceup cards stored in Archives at any time, and do not need to maintain the order of its cards while doing so. The Corporation can also look at the facedown cards in Archives at any time; the Runner cannot.

Strictly speaking, the Corp cannot look at the card until after it has been trashed. However, the moment the card is in the archive, the Corp can view it whenever they want to.

Your group can interpret this as you like, but for the time being there's no practical difference if the corp glances at the card before it physically touches the discard pile.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Am I crazy, or is this something like the fifth time I've read this exact question today?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it has now been asked about 10 times. Is the search function not working?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulGrogan wrote:
I think it has now been asked about 10 times. Is the search function not working?

What do you mean, "search function"??1?

shake
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benedetto Loffredo
Italy
Portici (NA)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
solidsteve wrote:
When Noises' ability is triggered: "Whenever you install a virus program, the Corp trashes the top card of R&D", does this card get trashed face up or down and if it is down, does the Corp get to look at the card first?


Cards should not change their 'state' when trashed. http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?e...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henric Fröberg
Sweden
flag msg tools
Seize the Road
badge
For Captain Hammer!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Drink?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Nathanson
United States
Huntingdon Valley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Cool, Thanks guys!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HenricF wrote:
Drink?


Yeah, this question is a great addition to the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.