Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Fluxx» Forums » Rules

Subject: Holographic Projector and using other players Keepers to win rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up in a recent game:

Player A had the Doctor in play, Player B, several seats away had the Holographic Projector and the Computer, and the Cute Fuzzy Alien Creature was circulating with both Brain Parasites and Evil attached. The goal required Evil and the Computer, so Player B would win on his turn if it weren't for the Brain Parasites.

Player B argued that, since using A's Doctor's ability to cure the Brain Parasites would make him win, he should be able to use the Holographic Projector to play the Doctor's ability as though it were in front of him in order to win. The rest of us decided that the Projector only lets you count the foreign Keeper toward the Goal, not win using any other properties of the card.

In the event, it was a moot point - Player B had the Captain in play, so could have just kidnapped the Doctor anyway, another player killed Cute Fuzzy before B's turn, purging the Evil, and Player B went on to win in the end.

Anyway, two questions:

1) Can you use the Holographic Projector to borrow another player's Keeper's ability if that would (immediately) let you win?
2) Is there a better set of rulings out there somewhere than the FAQs in the rulebook?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rmsgrey wrote:
1) Can you use the Holographic Projector to borrow another player's Keeper's ability if that would (immediately) let you win?

I can't image that you could. A holographic projector can make something look like it's there, but the image it projects doesn't actually do anything.
Quote:
2) Is there a better set of rulings out there somewhere than the FAQs in the rulebook?

The best source of Fluxx info is currently the Looney Labs fan club web site at http://looneylabs.ning.com/. There used to be a web site that had FAQs on it, but it's currently dead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilias Sellountos
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rmsgrey wrote:
1) Can you use the Holographic Projector to borrow another player's Keeper's ability if that would (immediately) let you win?

A Keeper's ability, no. The card says you can win with a Keeper somebody else has as if it was in front of you. That is just to comply with win conditions, not to allow you to use the Keeper as if it was yours.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dexter asdf
Greece
flag msg tools
Question:Can you use the Holographic Projector to "copy" 2 keepers of another player or 2 different players?The card text says you can win with "a" keeper someone else has.I think it means "one" keeper but i would like someone to clarify this if possible!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
d4zzle wrote:
Question:Can you use the Holographic Projector to "copy" 2 keepers of another player or 2 different players?

No.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dexter asdf
Greece
flag msg tools
Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.