Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing mulitple hosts on the same card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Naikelis
United States
Aurora
OH - Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played for my first time yesterday, and a question came up that I couldn't find in the rules anywhere. There is a hardware card that is hosted on an icebreaker that gives the icebreaker +1 strength. Can you play 2 of these on the same ice breaker increasing it's strength by 2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tu
South Africa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mattnaik wrote:
Played for my first time yesterday, and a question came up that I couldn't find in the rules anywhere. There is a hardware card that is hosted on an icebreaker that gives the icebreaker +1 strength. Can you play 2 of these on the same ice breaker increasing it's strength by 2?


Nothing says you can't, so the answer is naturally yes enjoy them
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conny Karlsson
Sweden
Skövde
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can host as many cards as you want on a card unless there's a written restriction. Djinn for example can only host up to 3 MU worth of non-breaker programs.

Just thought i'd mention, since this question always comes up, hosted programs still count as installed, so a hosted parasite still uses your available MU even if it's hosted on one of the corp's Ice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Naikelis
United States
Aurora
OH - Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Druni wrote:

Just thought i'd mention, since this question always comes up, hosted programs still count as installed, so a hosted parasite still uses your available MU even if it's hosted on one of the corp's Ice.


Thanks for that clarification because I'm sure I would be back here asking that exact same question at a later date
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I Personally Touched this icebreaker thrice!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron I
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt - Conduit23
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pvtparts wrote:
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?


Djinn can host Djinn (which can then host more things).

Whenever a hosting card is destroyed, the hosted cards are also destroyed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chengkai Yang
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mdanuser wrote:
pvtparts wrote:
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?


Djinn can host Djinn (which can then host more things).

Whenever a hosting card is destroyed, the hosted cards are also destroyed.


oh those horadric cube shannanigans
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tala Mare
msg tools
mb
pvtparts wrote:
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?

thats like asking if your bag of holding can hold another bag of holding!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Talamare wrote:
pvtparts wrote:
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?

thats like asking if your bag of holding can hold another bag of holding!


And we all know what happens when you try that!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conny Karlsson
Sweden
Skövde
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
andrewbwm wrote:
Talamare wrote:
pvtparts wrote:
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?

thats like asking if your bag of holding can hold another bag of holding!


And we all know what happens when you try that!


Just had to post this:
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Breuch
Germany
Kettig
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes search function can result in something like...

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10177336#10177336

... something
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Brooks
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
pvtparts wrote:
Is it possible to host a Djinn on another Djinn?

Also, once a Parasite has destroyed its host Ice, what happens to it?


Colloquially (by the way, that is the hardest word for me to say for some reason) this practice of putting a Djinn in a Djinn is referred to as "Nested Djinns". There is no real source for this term, just a phrase some have started to use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.