Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Blocks in the East» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Lend Lease:
I am uncertain IF the lend lease PPs are "only" the red and blue cubes, OR yellow plus the allotted splitting of red and blue cubes.

Bonus vs Malus:
It is written in the rules 1 Bonus is nullified by 1 Malus.
(example - Elite Infantry Guard unit attacking a Forest, instead of halving the dices due to the malus and hitting 5+, it rolls full dices and hit on 6).
Thus am I to assume a 4 step German Panzer, tech 2, having thus 1 bonus due to tech, attacking a Forest, means that rolls 4 dices hitting with 6, or rolls 2 dices hitting with 5? In an example it is said it would halve its dices.

Russian Artillery Special Rule at Tech2+:
It is stated they roll 2 extra dices, always.
This means that even if the Artillery is at 1 Step, it would roll 3?
If so why the Stuka - Trumpet of Jericho is only if Stuka is at full strenght (almost impossible?)
Suggestion: Change both rules to be having a 50% extra dices to current steps. (Strength 4 = +2 dices, Strength 3-2 = +1 Dice, Strength 1 = +0 Dices).



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lend Lease has special rules.
Soviets got armor/air replacements that can be used as if they were coupled to yellow points.
Reason is that the Soviets must use those red/blue points as armor/aircraft replacement (they cant discard the blue/red point and use the yellow instead for building infantry).

Stukas: Germans must protect their valuable dive bombers with a good fighter escort, to keep Stukas at full strenght (and Trumpeter Bonus)

emanuele
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
So for the Lend Lease it is a Full PP (to be accounted pratically 1 Yellow + 1 Red which can't be split, in case of red).
My wonder was if they were only getting the red / blue component (and thus need a yellow cube / PP from the Russia homeland production to be paired with).

About the Bonus / Malus what of the two versions is the one working in accord to the rules as I've found contrasting examples?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ya I understand what is behind your question.

Tomorrow morning I will make a check to be sure that this is correctly explained in the rules.

Great eyes...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Another question - Panzer and Cavalry attack.

It is said that the attacking Panzer and the Cavs roll first - fine - but then is to be targetted first by retaliation fire from the defender.
This means that only and exclusively the first hit (if any) of the defender goes on the Panzer / Cav unit - or ALL the defender hits go on them.

Also, can Panzer and Cavalry attack be combined? (1 Panzer 1 Cav attacking vs 2 Infantry units!) - and if so which unit of the two gets targetted first by retaliation fire?

Example:
German Panzer 4 CV and German 5 CV Infantry attack in Clear (careful with Italian translation in rules by the way, it is mentioned as "Libero" and not "Pianeggiante" or similiar, also in the Italian translation is very obscure if not unmentioned / mispelled the Cav / Pz is to take first hit(s)) two 7 CV each Shock Troops. (Suicidal attack but it's an example).
Panzer attack! The German rolls 4 dices hitting with 5+, only 1 hit scored thus the Shock Troops are still 7 and 7, rolling 14 dices, and scoring 4 Hits!
The first should go on the Panzer, no matter. From 4 to 3. Next we've 3 hits, if Panzer attack means all hits go first on the Panzer the Panzer would be erased and destroyed; otherwise the next 3 hits would go on the Infantry (From 5 to 3 - being the strongest, and then both Pz and Inf at 3 means the German player chooses, thus having the infantry reduced to 2).
Then the Infantry would roll its dices (5 or 2 depending from above), and if scoring 1 hit would get a Shock to 5 CV (since there is 1 pending hit from the Pz).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cohen wrote:
Another question - Panzer and Cavalry attack.

It is said that the attacking Panzer and the Cavs roll first - fine - but then is to be targetted first by retaliation fire from the defender.
This means that only and exclusively the first hit (if any) of the defender goes on the Panzer / Cav unit - or ALL the defender hits go on them.
ALL

Cohen wrote:
Also, can Panzer and Cavalry attack be combined? (1 Panzer 1 Cav attacking vs 2 Infantry units!) - and if so which unit of the two gets targetted first by retaliation fire?
THE STRONGEST

Cohen wrote:
Example:
German Panzer 4 CV and German 5 CV Infantry attack in Clear (careful with Italian translation in rules by the way, it is mentioned as "Libero" and not "Pianeggiante" or similiar, also in the Italian translation is very obscure if not unmentioned / mispelled the Cav / Pz is to take first hit(s)) two 7 CV each Shock Troops. (Suicidal attack but it's an example).
Panzer attack! The German rolls 4 dices hitting with 5+, only 1 hit scored thus the Shock Troops are still 7 and 7, rolling 14 dices, and scoring 4 Hits!
The first should go on the Panzer, no matter. From 4 to 3. Next we've 3 hits, if Panzer attack means all hits go first on the Panzer the Panzer would be erased and destroyed; otherwise the next 3 hits would go on the Infantry (From 5 to 3 - being the strongest, and then both Pz and Inf at 3 means the German player chooses, thus having the infantry reduced to 2).
Then the Infantry would roll its dices (5 or 2 depending from above), and if scoring 1 hit would get a Shock to 5 CV (since there is 1 pending hit from the Pz).
RIGHT. ALL the 4 hits must be taken by charging panzers. But Panzer Attack is an option that should be used carefully.

Fron the rule manual:

Tactical Note: The Panzers Attack! option
could be the crucial breakthrough tactic in
some specific situations, especially if
attacking with elite armor units. But suffering
heavy losses on these precious units could
conversely be a disadvantage for a large
scale offensive.



I would just not use it in this case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes I know it is optional!
But wanted to make sure of its mechanics.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cohen wrote:
Yes I know it is optional!
But wanted to make sure of its mechanics.


I know you would use it ALWAYS. arrrh

I sent you a PM.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
ULTIMO wrote:
Cohen wrote:
Yes I know it is optional!
But wanted to make sure of its mechanics.


I know you would use it ALWAYS. arrrh

I sent you a PM.


Unless u use recon you can't know when to use it can you.?
Or do you declare panzer attack AFTER the blocks are seen?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LOL... I was just kidding...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
Grrrr. stop being so happy. Crushing the Soviet Union is serious....ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yy8mxh0P63M

LOL

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.