A boy named Sioux
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Meow.
mbmbmbmbmb
I am relatively new to wargames and I've found that many of the games that I'm after are out of print. For example, I recently bought Command & Colors Ancients which I love and would like to buy expansions but those available require earlier expansions. So do I buy those now to save for later in the year when I can get those earlier expansions or does it make sense to just wait for the next cycle?

So for those veterans, what tactics do you employ to work around the short print runs and what knowledge can you share about the print cycles of wargames? My gut instinct is to buy, buy, buy but really, I'd rather not have a game on my shelf that I can't play until I get the needed expansions that work with them.

EDIT: This has been the most useful response for me so far...

dogmatix wrote:
To the original question, the short print runs really can be a pain in the ass. I ignored The Gamers/MMP OCS series thanks to my initial exposure via Hube's Pocket, which was just too huge and too slow for my taste. It wasn't until much later that I discovered (via OCS Burma) that the smaller games in the series were a real treat to play. Of course, the 2 games with the right combination of scale and scope, Korea and Sicily, were *long* OOP and selling for $250+. That experience certainly reinforced the "if interested, buy now and get to it later" impulse.

That said, if you're just starting to look into wargaming, one thing that helps is to get a sense of a game's importance (not quite the right word) to the publisher, as well as how they handle reprints. Twilight Struggle and the C&C and Combat Commander lines have been cash cows for GMT. They've gone through multiple re-prints and revisions to keep them on the shelves. Those games might sit a bit while awaiting a reprint, but it's unlikely it will be too terribly long (err...by wargame standards: under 2 years ).