Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leaders and Armies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hilary Hartman
United States
GLENNALLEN
Alaska
flag msg tools
badge
Just your friendly, neighborhood game player and superhero!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A few questions...

First, when using an army die to move armies, do leaders move with them? Or must you use character dice to move armies with leaders?

Second, if you move only armies with the army dice, then do any left behind leaders get removed from play? If so, then why use the army dice to move armies at all?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Palmer
United States
Windsor mill
Maryland
flag msg tools
mb
When you move armies with Army dice, the leaders move with them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zippadeedoodah
Netherlands
Amsterdam
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If so, then why use the army dice to move armies at all?

If memory serves, you can move two armies with one army die (or attack with one army).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rnijholt wrote:
Quote:
If so, then why use the army dice to move armies at all?

If memory serves, you can move two armies with one army die (or attack with one army).


That's correct. One army die can be used to either move two different armies, or attack with one army. The armies involved need not have leaders in them; but if they do, then the leaders move with the army.

One character die can be used to either move one (not two) army containing a leader, or attack with one army containing a leader.

Because army dice let you move two armies but only attack with one, and you'll usually have a leader in an attacking army anyway unless it's a desperation attack, the usual pattern is to use army dice for movement and character dice to attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nate ben-porat
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
puck4604 wrote:
A few questions...

First, when using an army die to move armies, do leaders move with them? Or must you use character dice to move armies with leaders?

Second, if you move only armies with the army dice, then do any left behind leaders get removed from play? If so, then why use the army dice to move armies at all?


leaders can with army even if you use arny die and so also charcters and elites. there is no need to answer your second question i guess laugh .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
freezing chicken wrote:
puck4604 wrote:
A few questions...

First, when using an army die to move armies, do leaders move with them? Or must you use character dice to move armies with leaders?

Second, if you move only armies with the army dice, then do any left behind leaders get removed from play? If so, then why use the army dice to move armies at all?


leaders can with army even if you use arny die and so also charcters and elites. there is no need to answer your second question i guess laugh .


freezing chicken -

Your desire to help out by answering people's rules questions is much appreciated. Thanks a lot!

I did notice, though, that you answered a few questions like this one, that had already been well answered a couple of weeks ago. There's no need for that; it only bumps the thread unnecessarily, and perhaps pushes newer questions further down the topic list where they'll likely be ignored.

As I said, your desire to help is very much appreciated -- but don't waste your time on the old questions, save it for the new questions that haven't been answered yet.

Thanks a lot, anyway. cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.