I see some answers I am not sure I agree with. Let me go through and offers my opinions, which may or may not be in agreement with the other posters.
- How many scarab counters can I remove on a phase 0 card during phase 0 ?
All of them.
- If I have no cards in hand, am I forced to spend my turn redrawing ? (Since you must play or discard a card each turn).
There is FAQ on this one. You are free to take your turn normally or refresh your hand. This is the only time you are not required to play or discard a card.
- If I use my turn to discard generally, does this mean none of the dominance phase is played - i.e all the dominance markers will stay where they are this turn ?
Discarding if free and does not impact the other aspects of your turn.
- For winning you need to control 4 areas (2 in each region) at the start of your turn. Do these need to be the same 4 that you ended your turn controlling ?