GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,916 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Police Precinct» Forums » Rules

Subject: Police card questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played with a couple of friends last night and just curious to see if we payed it right...

(1) we had a purple card come up that prevented us from drawing police cards until it was resolved. The next event card that came up was the one that allows officers to go back to the police station if desired and then draw a police card. I assume since the first event had yet to be resolved, we would not be allowed to draw the cards this event card gave us permission to draw?...although we could still choose to go to the station if desired?

(2) we found ourselves in a brutal situation last night that ultimately caused us to lose the game...not sure we could have stopped it from happening...one player drew the riot event card that places a punk there whenever an emergency card is drawn...and it starts with 3 of them! The next person was unable to do anything about it and proceeded to draw a card that placed two street punks on a street with two already present, causing the formation of a gang...the gang we drew prevented us from PLAYING police cards, mening we only had one or two base dice to deal with both situations since no police cards could be played. I am assuming that paying a police card means both on your turn and paying one to assist another player? In this case, we soon ran out of street punks, as we didn't have the firepower to take them out in sufficient numbers...causing the crime track to jump up quickly in our final three or four turns...absolutely brutal situation!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Common Man Games
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garry_rice wrote:
Just played with a couple of friends last night and just curious to see if we payed it right...

(1) we had a purple card come up that prevented us from drawing police cards until it was resolved. The next event card that came up was the one that allows officers to go back to the police station if desired and then draw a police card. I assume since the first event had yet to be resolved, we would not be allowed to draw the cards this event card gave us permission to draw?...although we could still choose to go to the station if desired?



Bingo!

Well done.

You interpreted that right.

It is a hard situation when you can't draw Police Cards, this can sink even the best Task-Force...

I just added something on the rules page about this...

http://www.commonman.com/rules-clarity/

Here is what I wrote...

VAN Event Card
With the Escort Important Van card, and any other scenario that prevents you from drawing cards, please interpret this in the most harsh manner possible. Meaning, in the case of the Van card, do not draw Police Cards in phase-3 of your turn. Furthermore, should the Optional Training Event card surface before completing the Van’s Escort, do not draw Police Cards. The same goes for the Allocated Resources Police Card (it is effectively worthless while the van is on the board).

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Common Man Games
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garry_rice wrote:


(2) we found ourselves in a brutal situation last night that ultimately caused us to lose the game...not sure we could have stopped it from happening...one player drew the riot event card that places a punk there whenever an emergency card is drawn...and it starts with 3 of them! The next person was unable to do anything about it and proceeded to draw a card that placed two street punks on a street with two already present, causing the formation of a gang...the gang we drew prevented us from PLAYING police cards, mening we only had one or two base dice to deal with both situations since no police cards could be played. I am assuming that paying a police card means both on your turn and paying one to assist another player? In this case, we soon ran out of street punks, as we didn't have the firepower to take them out in sufficient numbers...causing the crime track to jump up quickly in our final three or four turns...absolutely brutal situation!


You ran into "The Unadjusted" Gang, and at the prefectly WRONG time!

Ouch!

gulp

That is rough.

About as rough as it gets!

You are correct in thinking that you can not play Police Cards while they are present (on your turn or otherwise).



By the way, I played a game last night, that was the biggest seesaw game I have ever been involved with.

We had some VERY horrible things happen at times and at other times we had the board very clear of issues.

At times it went from one extreme to the other in a matter of seconds.



(it's amazing what one event can do)

In the end we won, but time was almost up and we were one space from fail on the Crime Track.



PS - gotta go watch the Super Bowl now!!!

thumbsup
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ole Steiness
Denmark
Herlev
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ouch, yes, seems like a brutal game, indeed!

I had something similar earlier today (solo play), when having BOTH the Officer In Trouble and the Van on the table at the same time... and then the Street Riot happened cry

I managed to win anyway, despite playing quite awhile without getting Police Cards - thankfully, I had Donuts, and a mix of having upgraded + spending Donut on the spot to roll extra dice + getting assistance by another police car on the scene allowed to roll enough to both deal with the riot and the murderer soon after...

It CAN be done

But, yes, it can also be brutal, especially if you are out of Street Punks or have to deal with too many Urgent Emergencies.

Sometimes, it ain't easy being the boys in blue soblue
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.