GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,364 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Production Problems (card #7) and Soviet Education rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Szarka
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
When it is your turn to send a VASSAL move, the wait is excruciating. When it's my turn, well, I've been busy.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the Production Problems card be used to cancel the Soviet "Free Education" upgrade?

Production Problems: Play anytime to cancel one just performed Soviet unit Improvement or Replacement.

Technically this is not an "Improvement", or is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's an "Upgrade".

"Improvement" is flipping a reduced side unit back to it's full strength side.

The "Free Education" is not a flipping from reduced to full, but an upgrade of a single sided unit to a stronger single sided unit.

See:
Quote:
[7.1] Improving Reduced-Strength Units to
Full-Strength
Only two-step units currently on the map on their reduced
side can be Improved (flipped over) to their full-strength
side. The following cost is incurred for each unit:

Quote:
[7.2] Free Soviet Upgrades “Education”
Starting on Turn 6, the Soviet player can
Upgrade one unit for free (i.e., no card cost)
per Soviet Organization Phase. An upgraded
Soviet unit is flipped to its stronger, red-colored
side.


So the answer is: No, you can't cancel this Upgrade.

Edit:
Just discovered this, too:
Quote:
Important: this rule applies to non-Fortress units only
on or after Turn 17 (see 7.3); prior to that, all other Soviet
units have only one step.


Even the flipping of regional units to the "Fortress" side is no "Improvement":

Quote:
[7.5] Fortress Conversion
It is also during his friendly Flip Step that the Soviet player
may convert (flip) his one-step Regional infantry units into
a two-step Fortified infantry units regardless of their supply
status, at a cost of one card discard. There is no reward
or penalty for this reversion.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Johnson
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think the free upgrades are technically not Improvements or Replacements, and so immune to Production Problems - see Consimworld

Carl Paradis wrote:

Quote:
Soviet uses free upgrade to flip a unit to it's red side. Can Axis play 07 - Production Problems to cancel it? "Play any time to cancel one just-done Soviet Improvement or Replacement"

I *think* this card does not apply. True?


True! An "Upgrade" is not an "Inprovement or a Replacement".


I think thematically, the improvements/replacements represent actual "production", while the Upgrades represent just reorganizing what they already have produced to operate more effectively.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.