GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,304 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gunship: First Strike!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving a Gunship Attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Eucker
United States
Cedar Grove
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I am still a little unsure of the sequence of resolution of a Gunship (vs Gunship for this case)Attack.

The active Player plays his Hit/Ionized Cards for the Attack.

Is it then that the Defending Player must play any Evasive Action Cards if he chooses to do so? Before any Hit Modifiers or Hit Location Die Rolls are done. Or can the Evasive Action be played AFTER Modifers or Location Die?

Along the same line; Must the Bullseye be played WITH the Hit/Ionized or can the Attacker wait to see if the Enemy Evades the attack.

Can the critical Damage card be played after there is no evesion and a location is determinded by the Die roll?

I guess what I am asking is there a sequencial order as to when each type of card must be played, step by step, for the resolution of an Attack?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Wood
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Gunship: First Strike! A hit on Kickstarter and soon available as a PreOrder!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, Eric

Hope this helps!

The attack cards are played one at a time.

Bullseye MUST be played along with an attack - attacker cannot wait to see whether or not it's evaded

Evasive Action MUST be played before modifiers/Hit location - defender cannot choose to evade after learning where the attack hit his ship

Critical Damage is only played if the attack is not evaded and actual damage is done.

Let me know if you need any additional help!

Steve
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Eucker
United States
Cedar Grove
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks so much for the quick reply.

As a follow up, must a location be declaired when the Bullseye is played or can we wait till after possible evation?

Can the Critical Damage be played AFTER the Location Die is rolled?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Matecha
United States
Florence
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bullseye MUST be announced when the attack is made. Page 11 in the rulebook.

If someone plays Bullseye on me and I have damage somewhere critical, especially a wing I absolutely play Evasive Action.
Conversely as an attacker I often throw in a normal Hit hoping they will use their Evasive Action up then nail them with a second Hit and a Bullseye.

I believe Critical Damage is applied after the location is rolled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Wood
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Gunship: First Strike! A hit on Kickstarter and soon available as a PreOrder!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Bullseye is declared along with the attack.

Example: "I'm gonna play a Hit and Bullseye your Power Generator"

(defender does not have an Evasive Action card)

"OK, your PG takes a Hit, and I will now play Critical Damage, giving it 2 hits total"

And HOPE I don't also have a Slagged card in my hand at this point!

It is ALWAYS up to the attacker whether or not to play Critical Damage. If his shot hits a Location that he does not deem worthy of Critical Damage, he may hold it for a future attack.

So here is a basic chart of order:

Attacker plays attack card (Hit or Ionized), along with any Bullseyes

Defender may play Evasive Action

If attack is not evaded, either the attack hits where the attacker chooses (if Bullseye was played) OR the d8 is rolled to determine Hit Location.

Once Hit Location is known, attacker MAY play Critical Damage, Slagged etc.

Rinse and Repeat!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Eucker
United States
Cedar Grove
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Excellent. Thanks much Steve
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Mehr
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@Fallow; I have used that tactic against Steve so many times! It's great. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.