Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Bora Bora» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building Spaces and Building Materials set aside rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just gave the rules a twice-over, an I'm as excited as ever for Feld goodness! However, it left me with a couple questions:

What does the "building space" in each region mean? Is its only purpose for getting the region's fish points at the end of the game? They could have put a much better name for that, seeing as it's totally unrelated to the building action.

Is the only point to putting building materials to the side of your board for fulfilling tasks?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:
What does the "building space" in each region mean? Is its only purpose for getting the region's fish points at the end of the game?

Yes.

The building action is for building graves and do a ceremony. That's why you need the materials. They need to be on your player board and you cannot change their location once you put them there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:

Is the only point to putting building materials to the side of your board for fulfilling tasks?


You put them to the side if you don't have space on your board.
Notice that you don't need to discard anything for the tasks. You just need to have them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Milano wrote:
You put them to the side if you don't have space on your board.
Notice that you don't need to discard anything for the tasks. You just need to have them.


But that's all those set aside materials can do, right? You can't use them for actually building, and you don't get any end-game points or anything for them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right.
You only need the ones that are on your board (for building action).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Milos Prochazka
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mb
Azeltir wrote:

But that's all those set aside materials can do, right? You can't use them for actually building, and you don't get any end-game points or anything for them.


I guess they still count towards objectives.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rychlik wrote:
I guess they still count towards objectives.

That's what the rules says.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Slater
United Kingdom
Newport
Newport, South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:
Milano wrote:
You put them to the side if you don't have space on your board.
Notice that you don't need to discard anything for the tasks. You just need to have them.


But that's all those set aside materials can do, right? You can't use them for actually building, and you don't get any end-game points or anything for them.


Only to qualify for filling up the 12 spaces with resources or buildings at end of game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Liggur wrote:
Azeltir wrote:
Milano wrote:
You put them to the side if you don't have space on your board.
Notice that you don't need to discard anything for the tasks. You just need to have them.


But that's all those set aside materials can do, right? You can't use them for actually building, and you don't get any end-game points or anything for them.


Only to qualify for filling up the 12 spaces with resources or buildings at end of game.

Not quite true. They also qualify for the Task tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For example, the Task Tile that requires you to have 5 building materials.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.