Subject: 2p Games for Husband/Wife rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Toledo
Ohio
flag msg tools
Hi all,

Been browsing the site for a long time and just joined recently – great site! I have searched and spent several hours reading all of the relevant geeklists and forum posts, but before I pull the trigger on some more games, I thought I’d as for some recommendations.

My wife and I started playing some games 2-3 years ago and played pretty regularly for awhile (Blokus duo, Ticket to Ride, Lost Cities, Stomple).

We now have a 2 year old and a 6 month old, but over the last month we have begun playing games a few nights a week, and we are planning on keeping this pace up. We play maybe an hour or so at a time, and before bed, so the wife is usually exhausted for the day and about ready to check out, so anything to heavy won’t hold her interest.

Here are the games we have and ranked according to my wife (favorite to least favorite)

Jaipur (her favorite, we play this at least 1-2 times per week)
Lost Cities (another favorite of hers…a little boring for me)
Blokus
Ticket to Ride
Stomple
Dominion
Mr. Jack Pocket (only played a few times, just got it this month…I think it is too slow for her)
Hive (too slow and strategic for her I think)
Forbidden Island (our first coop experience….just seemed boring to us both, I think we prefer head to head)

Games already on the way from a recent order:

Court of the Medici
Morels (preordered for April release)
Agricola All Creatures

So, I’m looking to add a few more games, then try to chill out on buying for awhile (we’ll see about that). I’m looking to keep it around $50 or less, which shouldn’t be too difficult.

Games I’m considering:

Love Letter (seems like a fun cheap game for 2, although from what I’ve ready many think the 2p experience is lacking…)