Shawn Dumas
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I was a freshman in High school and was skipping class and killing time in the school library when the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe caught my attention. Having taken the book from the shelf I began to read it and I quickly found my self transfixed. The book dealt so honestly and so disapprovingly with the horrid thoughts and actions of the selfish brat of Edmund that I could not put it down.

It was not that I had never before encountered in print the likes of a selfish brat. What fascinated me was the fact that no excuse was made for Edmund! Every book I had read thus far had sought to make the reader empathize with the wrongs committed by its main characters; the authors had sought to legitimize selfishness and lies, and all manner of evil, as if the only true evil was to recognizing evil for what it is.

But little did I know that this small book held a greater wonder within its pages, for Narnia was the land in which I first glimpsed my Lord. I did not know Him as Lord then, when I first caught a glimpse of Him there upon the stone table; but now I am certain of it. I was Edmund, the selfish traitor, and my Aslan is Jesus Christ, the only important difference being that Edmund had repented before Aslan loved him with the love of sacrifice, but not so with me. I was still an enemy when The Lord loved me upon the cross.

God, through C. S. Lewis, taught me the shape and form of Christ as in a drawing, so that when my Lord came it was a familiar face that I beheld. I may not agree with all that Lewis taught, but I will forever be indebted to him for giving me a portrait by which Christ’s face might be seen by this former enemy. This is why that land beyond the wardrobe will live and thrive in my imagination until the day when I no longer need the sketch, but can look upon the face of my Lord Himself.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London