Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Railways of the World» Forums » Rules

Subject: End Game Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Al Johnson
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The rules state; "The game ends at the end of a complete turn following the turn in which a certain number of Empty City markers have been played on the board." Let's assume 4 players are playing, therefore the endgame condition call for 14 empty city markers to be placed.

A. If later in that round someone urbanizes an empty city and takes the number back below 14, thereby removing the empty city marker, does the game still end the following round?

B. Or in the following round someone urbanizes does the game still end that round?

I'm assuming the answer will be the same for each. Since the rules don't seem to address that, we've been going on the assumption that since the last Empty City marker was placed and the rules don't address the issue of urbanizing afterward, that the game still ends as normal.

Any thoughts...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marshall P.
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
"Nothing in Biology Makes Sense Except in the Light of Evolution" - Theodosius Dobzhansky
badge
There is grandeur in this view of life, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being, evolved.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is yes, once the game end is triggered urbanization cannot undo it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Johnson
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Great - that makes sense. Thanks for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Al Johnson wrote:
Great - that makes sense. Thanks for the reply.


I suppose however you are using "round" with the meaning of "turn".

Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Johnson
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yes Alex, you are correct. Sorry about the confusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.