GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,484 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Clash of Giants II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ypres - Unable to Retreat - British Remnants rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All right, so in game of PBEM - Ypres Scenario, the Allies have a division surrounded by three German divisions. The Allied unit fails it's TER roll, takes a step loss, and is required to retreat two hexes.

The retreat rules state that a retreating unit cannot retreat through EZOCs. So is the unit eliminated, or does it simply stay in place?

If the Allied Unit is eliminated due to this retreat result, may the Allied player use the Ypres "British Remnant" Rule to place another unit there?

The Remnant rule (in the Ypres Campaign book) states "When any British unit is eliminated while defending, for any reason, these may be placed (a maximum of one per hex) in the hex that defending unit occupied. Any retreat result from that combat is ignored. . . ." The reason this is confusing is that the unit isn't eliminated *until* it retreats, so the Remnant wouldn't be needed if you ignore the retreat result. Basically, does the retreat count as "eliminated while defending" - I am inclined to think yes, but if you ignore the retreat result, the unit isn't eliminated.

Anyway, any guidance is appreciated. Small GG tip for (correct) answers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Smith
United States
Capitola
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmontgo2 wrote:


The retreat rules state that a retreating unit cannot retreat through EZOCs. So is the unit eliminated, or does it simply stay in place?


The unit is eliminated. The pertinent rule from page 7 is quoted below.

Quote:
12.82 Retreat Direction. Units must retreat, if possible, in a direction indicated by that side’s retreat compass. They may retreat in any other direction only to avoid elimination due to enemy ZoCs and impassable hexes or hexsides (including the edge of the map).


The phrase "elimination due to enemy ZoCs" really should have been stated under section "12.84 Enemy ZoCs."

cmontgo2 wrote:

If the Allied Unit is eliminated due to this retreat result, may the Allied player use the Ypres "British Remnant" Rule to place another unit there?

The Remnant rule (in the Ypres Campaign book) states "When any British unit is eliminated while defending, for any reason, these may be placed (a maximum of one per hex) in the hex that defending unit occupied. Any retreat result from that combat is ignored. . . ." The reason this is confusing is that the unit isn't eliminated *until* it retreats, so the Remnant wouldn't be needed if you ignore the retreat result. Basically, does the retreat count as "eliminated while defending" - I am inclined to think yes, but if you ignore the retreat result, the unit isn't eliminated.


My interpretation of this rule is that the remnant ignores the retreat result, not the original unit eliminated.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.