Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Skyline» Forums » Rules

Subject: Limit to re-rolls? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there a limit to the number of re-rolls?
If not, why would one not just keep re-rolling until they get the desired results? The only reason I currently see why one would stop or choose another option is to not be an annoying jerk, re-rolling 15 times to build all high rises.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After each roll you must build or put one in the construction yard or the scrap yard. This might be wrong, but the gist is you'll always lose at least one die after each roll.

I'm sure I'm using the wrong terms though.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, thanks... Somehow that slipped my mind.
I was starting to think that there wasn't really any game there. Now I see it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven riola

joliet
Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought that after rolling, if you didn't build you had to choose whether or not to add a die to the abandoned area if you wanted to re-roll the rest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Jacobsen
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
who longs for oolong
badge
You are excrement. You can change yourself into gold.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thearkhammonk wrote:
I thought that after rolling, if you didn't build you had to choose whether or not to add a die to the abandoned area if you wanted to re-roll the rest.


Yes and no, you have to do something with a die, which could be abandoning or demolishing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Warren
United Kingdom
Wisbech
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Elves are very good at board games, and I'm NOT an elf!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SJacobsen159 wrote:
thearkhammonk wrote:
I thought that after rolling, if you didn't build you had to choose whether or not to add a die to the abandoned area if you wanted to re-roll the rest.


Yes and no, you have to do something with a die, which could be abandoning or demolishing.

Adding that if you choose to demolish, you must also lose a building tile or a complete row of dice from your skyline.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Chien
United States
Rancho Cucamonga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
...you can't demolish a completed and scored building tile, nor do you demolish a "row" of dice.

You can demolish a partially built or completed-but-not-yet-scored building.

Cameron
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mate Horvath
Hungary
Budapest
Pest
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"completed-but-not-yet-scored"

What is this term? If you complete a building you immediately get the building tile with the points on it.
If you want you can demolish a completed building tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.