Subject: New to boardgames. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan LeBlanc
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mb
Hi All, I have been playing video games for over 5 years. Over that time I have listen to a couple of podcast where some of the personalities are avid board gamers. I am looking for an introductory game for the family (Wife and Son(12))and that I can take over for a game night with other adults. Any help would be greatly appreciated...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sweetgotham
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
I saw pale kings and princes too, Pale warriors, death-pale were they all; They cried—‘La Belle Dame sans Merci Hath thee in thrall!’
mbmbmbmbmb
Stone Age, Catan, Dixit, Carcassonne, and Forbidden Island would all be good, easy to learn games representing a variety of different types of play.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael dorazio
United States
tyngsboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ticket to Ride
San Juan
Citadels

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Fox
United States
Yukon
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
May I ask what your favorite video games are, or if you can tell us maybe what kind of movies or books you like? Sometimes that's really important when recommending games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice bags!
United States
Wurtsboro
NY
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to BGG!

Several good suggestions so far. I will just add that if you're looking for a game for a slightly larger group (6+ players) you might also look at:

Tsuro - Plays up to 8p in less than a half hour.

Unnamed Object - Exploration/treasure game, also plays up to 8p. Everyone gets to decide whether to go forward or go back to camp each turn.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Kazimierczak
United States
Falmouth
Maine
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb