GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,609 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition): Shattered Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: SD and Production rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
K S
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The Text on the SC Production says you can build units in a system containg one ore more friendly SD and SD's are units.
But the FAQ says you cannot use SC Prod. prim. to produce a SD.
My thoughts are that the ruling is there to point out that you cannot use the SC Production Card to build a SD in a system, not containing a SD.
...but the rulebook text(SE p.15) says you can produce units AT one ore more friendly SD's, which supports the FAQ ruling...
Other thoughts on this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kristobal wrote:
The Text on the SC Production says you can build units in a system containg one ore more friendly SD and SD's are units.
But the FAQ says you cannot use SC Prod. prim. to produce a SD.
My thoughts are that the ruling is there to point out that you cannot use the SC Production Card to build a SD in a system, not containing a SD.
...but the rulebook text(SE p.15) says you can produce units AT one ore more friendly SD's, which supports the FAQ ruling...
Other thoughts on this?


I am not sure exactly what your question is.

You cannot build a space dock using production and you cannot build at a system without a space dock using production.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K S
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
But anyway, you answered it very clearly - thx
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael L
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The key to this one is that Production allows you to produce units at a space dock, and Space Docks themselves are not produced from a Space Dock, they're built on a planet.

So you can't use Production for anything not built at a Space Dock, Like Mines, or another Space Dock
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gagner
United States
Maple Grove
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nehkrimah wrote:
The key to this one is that Production allows you to produce units at a space dock, and Space Docks themselves are not produced from a Space Dock, they're built on a planet.

So you can't use Production for anything not built at a Space Dock, Like Mines, or another Space Dock


This isn't entirely correct. You use Production to build units IN a system containing a space dock. The rules for space docks don't allow building at a space dock you received the same turn. So a newly built space dock is useless for Production.

However, the Arborec can get around this. They can build a space dock and then use Production to build in the current system. While they still can't build at their space dock, they could build at any ground forces in the system.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.